We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beginnings Maybe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Confederate Memorial Museum

Confederate Memorial Museum
929 Camp St, At St. Joseph's, New Orleans, LA LA 70130 (Central Business District)
504-523-4522
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Confederate Memorial Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #91 of 461 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The oldest surviving museum in Louisiana houses the second largest collection of Confederate memorabilia, most of which is in vintage condition.
Fair Oaks, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Beginnings Maybe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This modest museum is loaded with artifacts but little else. Even its short video is relegated to viewing in a hallway. Considering the outstanding museum on the Confederacy in Atlanta, this one could use some significant upgrading. There were 65000 LA soldiers in combat. I think they deserve a little more exposure than they are getting here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memhall, Museum Director at Confederate Memorial Museum, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We are sorry that you were disappointed in the Memorial Hall Museum. The collection of memorabilia is housed in a Victorian-era building and we are limited in space but we do our best to interpret LOUISIANA’S role in the American Civil War. The Museum was actually established by many of the 65,000 men from Louisiana that fought in the American Civil War, the founding fathers themselves were veterans of the conflict and provided this building to house their artifacts.
The building was built as a Confederate Museum and the exhibits change on a regular basis and include exhibits on battles that occurred in the Louisiana and battles elsewhere that involved soldiers from Louisiana.
The video presentation is optional, it last 22 minutes and tells the history and development of the museum. It also follows the life of a young man who enlisted in New Orleans, fought in several major battles, and died at the Battle of Mansfield. His uniform, diary and other personal possessions are displayed near the viewing area. The area has 15 chairs that are provided for those interested in viewing the video. We also sell copies of the award winning video in our gift shop, as well as online.
Memorial Hall is the anchor museum in the newly developed Museum District. The museum opened 123 years ago, is the oldest museum in Louisiana and is the one of the two largest collections of Confederate memorabilia in the United States. In your review you referenced the “outstanding” Museum of the Confederacy in Atlanta but actually it is in Richmond, Virginia.
Once again, we are sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice Little Museum About the Civil War”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went here after the WWII Museum and it was a nice little gem to see some info somewhere in the states on the Civil War. Cost is 8 dollars to enter the inside of the museum which is significantly less than the WWII Museum which is 22 dollars.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful self-guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This little gem is around the corner from the WWII museum and is definitely worth a look. Everything they have is in beautiful displays, in an even more beautiful building. The gift shop was surprisingly awesome. I bought wonderful gifts for myself and family back home for a great price. If you have an hour to spare, I would recommend spending it here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A "Must See" for Civil War buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Since New Orleans was conquered by the Yankees quickly and with little force, the city was spared the destruction that many Southern cities experienced; hence, the city still has many of it's old historic buildings. Memorabilia of the Civil War was preserved as well. This small museum has collected many priceless historical artifacts, all with well labeled explanations. Give yourself about three hours to look at everything. I like to look at the book stores in regional museums because they always have unusual books, and this is no exception. Where else could you find a Civil War POW camp cookbook?

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Has good memobilia about the historic war between the states.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've been in better museum, this is not an awe place. Don't get me wrong, it is nice to go through, but it is average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederate Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Confederate Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confederate Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.