We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never miss it when I'm in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contemporary Arts Center

Contemporary Arts Center
900 Camp St., At St. Joseph's, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-528-3805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the offering of young New Orleans artists here, including theater, performance art, dance and concerts.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never miss it when I'm in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The architecture's fun and changing exhibitions means you never know what you'll see. I follow a lot of contemporary art, but this place always manages to feel fresh and show me things I don't see elsewhere. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well worth a side trip to visit this museum, the exhibits were all interesting, particularly the one on masks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The worst part of our visit to NOLA”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

There was a really cool piece in the window that attracted us to visit. The sad thing is that that was the only thing worth seeing! There was not much too offer and was a big let down. It honestly isn't worth the time or money. Go to one of the other museums near by.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great space, needs some ART.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fabulous building. Shallow installations. I have to say I was very disappointed. I visited the Contemporary Arts Center after visiting the Ogden--which has a truly spectacular collection-- and found nothing worth spending time on. Too bad. I hope as the institution matures it will attract more mature projects and innovative work. The mixed media installation on immigration was shallow and derivative--it's been much better done many other times. The other installation pieces were amateurish. Too bad. I'll go back in a few years and see if it has grown up some.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Arts center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a wonderful day time adventure for anyone who loves art. You can get a cab from the quarter for about 6 bucks or even take the trolly. If you are a real adventurest you can walk and see plenty along the way.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Contemporary Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Contemporary Arts Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.