We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful church in CBD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old St. Patrick's Church

Old St. Patrick's Church
724 Camp St., At Girod, New Orleans, LA (Central Business District)
504/525-4413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 172 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A National Historic Landmark, Old St. Patrick's Church is one of only two early landmarks of distinction left in Lafayette Square, the other being Gallier Hall. Irish immigrants built the Gothic-style church in 1840 to rival the French St. Louis Cathedral in Jackson Square.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a beautiful church in CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

traditional latin mass (vetus ordo) available on Sundays. daily mass at 11:30 am and 12 noon. a hidden gem in Central Business District. will recommend to stop by for a visit, Eucharistic Adoration and celebrate mass

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gregorian Mass was breathtakingly beautiful! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was the most beautiful mass I have ever been to. The chanting, the reverence, and the message was a perfect way to start a Sunday!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Friday Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I were able to sneak a peek at this beautiful landmark after Good Friday services ended. What a gem. This place has been very well taken care of. The stained glass above the high alter is breathtaking. I would recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We passed by in the late afternoon and it was closed. The next day we passed by earlier and went in for the noon mass. WOW!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Free, beautiful, historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We walked to Saint Patrick's on a rainy Saturday afternoon and were not disappointed. The cathedral is small but incredibly detailed and a great example of the gothic style. We snuck in between services so didn't stay too long, but there is plenty to view from a seat in the pew. Worth the walk if you like cathedrals, stained glass, american history and free.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old St. Patrick's Church also viewed

 

Been to Old St. Patrick's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old St. Patrick's Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.