We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always go to Mass when I am in New Orleans.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old St. Patrick's Church

Old St. Patrick's Church
724 Camp St., At Girod, New Orleans, LA (Central Business District)
504/525-4413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 193 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Churches & cathedrals, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A National Historic Landmark, Old St. Patrick's Church is one of only two early landmarks of distinction left in Lafayette Square, the other being Gallier Hall. Irish immigrants built the Gothic-style church in 1840 to rival the French St. Louis Cathedral in Jackson Square.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Always go to Mass when I am in New Orleans.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not Catholic - but love this church and the message from the pulpit is always good and worth the visit. Plus the beauty of the sanctuary makes you feel like you are closer to God.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
808 reviews 808 reviews
211 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
1,466 helpful votes 1,466 helpful votes
“Beautiful House of Worship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Old St. Patrick's Church, a Catholic parish in the Archdiocese of New Orleans, was completed in 1940. It is the second oldest parish in the Crescent City. I spent about a half a hour visiting this beautiful church. With the exception of a priest and cleaning personnel, the church was empty, and I was able to wander around taking pictures of the interior with serene organ music playing. Persons interesting in religion, history, and architecture would do well to visit this church.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Never open!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I tried 4 times, over two days, to get into this church. Unfortunately, it was never open. If you want to visit, I would suggest going to a service (or right before/after service) or calling the church and seeing if they have specific hours. I couldn't find any on their website, nor is there any information on the front. I was greatly disappointed that I couldn't see the inside of this church!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This stunning, gothic church was built by the Irish in New Orleans so they could worship in English. The exterior is awe-inspiring and the interior a work of art.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, old church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived at the church just as it opened for the day and we were awed as we entered the building. It is breathtaking to say the least! The stained glass, the old statues of the saints, the altar.....I could go on and on. We enjoyed the peace, tranquility and beauty of the church as we knelt in prayer. St. Patrick Church is on our "must visit again" list!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old St. Patrick's Church also viewed

 

Been to Old St. Patrick's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old St. Patrick's Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.