We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Line New Orleans

Gray Line New Orleans
400 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA
5045691401
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
VIP Tour
$1,244*
and up
Viator VIP: 4-Day Ultimate Mardi Gras Experience
Ranked #78 of 205 Activities in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line New Orleans has been showcasing the city since 1924. Locally owned and operated, the Gray Line schedule includes the award winning Original Cocktail Tour. Another top offering is the Ghost Tour, which has been so intensely researched that the hotel with the most reported Ghost sightings in the city has invited Gray Line to produce an exhibit in their hotel. Among our professionally escorted tours are the Super City Tour, Katrina Tours, Swamp & Bayou, Airboat Swamp Tours, Oak Alley & Laura Plantation Tours, Cemetery & Voodoo, French Quarter & Garden District Walking Tours We limit the number of guests on our walking tours to enhance the experience and the view is always better from our luxurious mini-busses and motor coaches. Our Tour Guides are well trained, licensed, and want to share their personal experiences along the way. Morning to evening you can count on Gray Line New Orleans
wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Happened to use the Gray Line tour while on an Alaskan Cruise, it was great up there, just as great here! Our guide Michael had an extensive knowledge of the streets and the city of New Orleans, great way to see thing you may otherwise just drive past without noticing, horseshoe porches, styles of architecture, where certain things happened, etc.

Overall great tour, did the bus one day, paddleboat the next!

The Commish from Wisconsin

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    80
    32
    18
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Get Started in the Crescent City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We (wife and husband) took the 3.5 hour "Isle of Orleans" guided bus tour (guide Kindrell was a superbly informative, exceptionally gifted, gentleman and terrific host!). We opted to begin a day of sightseeing with this overview of the city, departing the riverfront Gray Line ticketing area at 10AM from near the foot of Canal Street. We were with maybe a dozen other tourists on a bus that had plenty of seats so we all had room to spread out, relax, converse, and enjoy the rolling narrative while looking out large windows, taking it all in. This tour is one of several combination tours offered by Gray Line, and it's a fine way to get oriented, educated, and perhaps teased as tourists who wanted at the tour's end to "get off and go back to see what we just drove by". Again, our concierge at the Wyndham La Belle Maison gave us this suggestion and it, like all others, was a good one. It's $53 a person minus a small discount...so don't act like "sticker shock" is your best friend....it's a good deal...a good overview...we were pleased and got good value.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Informative Katrina Tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I try a new "touristy" thing each time I visit the Big Easy! This time I chose the Katrina tour. Jill was a great tour guide. She was informative and really wanted everyone's input and questions! Overall I enjoyed the tour but I think it could be 1/2 to 1 hour shorter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“The Big Easy Jazz Tour Is Big Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Big Easy Jazz Tour is the perfect introduction to Jazz, and to New Orleans itself! Throw on your beads, and be prepared for a night of revelry... Gray Line style!

Sometimes it is difficult to decide just where to go for good music. It seems that everyone has a recommendation, and they are rarely the same. This is a walking tour that will take out the guesswork, as well as provide you with some insightful information on how Jazz began.

You will visit two destinations where you will hear Jazz at its best, performed by some of the area's absolute best local musicians. You will have reserved seating, which if you've ever visited a popular place along Bourbon, is priceless. You will also receive one complimentary drink, as well as a choice between another cocktail or cafe au lait and beignets. The tour includes a visit to the Musical Legends Park, where you can view and take photographs with the bronze statues depicting some of New Orleans' very own celebrities.

If you are interested in great music, perfectly mixed drinks, and a nice little history lesson, then this is the tour for you!

For more information, please visit online, or call (504)569-1401

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don;t waste your time with the Ghost tour”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Maybe I just had a bad tour guide but the ghost tour that I did with this company was the absolute worst experience and complete waste of time and money. The guide seemed more interested in making sure we gave her a positive review and tip rather then entertaining us with stories and history about locations that we were being taken to. This was a complete waste of time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Line New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.