We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rum Tasting. How can you go wrong.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
2815 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA
504-945-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 242 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Factory Tours, Distilleries, Sightseeing Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Rum Tasting. How can you go wrong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If navigating on your own it is a little hard to find. However, there is a shuttle the will pick you up at the French Market. The pickup location is the Organic Banana smoothie stand that is located around the center of the French Market. They also have $2 off coupons. They may also do hotel pickup. The story of the owner and the distillery are quite interesting. The product tasting is included in the tour and the products are great. The tour guide is fun and very knowledgeable. If you like rum and have the time I would recommend the tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    97
    26
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, LA
1 review
“Old New Orleans Rum Distillery Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If driving, it is a little hard to find but worth the effort. Tour and tasting is down to earth and unpretentious...located located in an old cotton warehouse. Tasting afterward was
enjoyable. No pressure to buy or depart.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“well off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Old New Orleans Rum Distillery is a fun tour. Even if you aren't a rum aficionado it is a worthwhile visit. The rum is most excellent, and seeing the artisanal processes by which it is made makes it even better. You can order rum shipped to most states, so it's not a worry if you're flying. I would most strongly recommend going during the week when the distillery runs transportation from French Market. On a Saturday our taxi had difficulty fining the distillery, which is not in a good neighborhood. It appears that it would be possible to get nearby on the bus, but I don't think that is a good idea.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
“What an awesome time!!! True NOLA hospitality & some AMAZING rum! Will go back every time I visit. Staff is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Awesome is all I can say! Some of the best rum I've ever tasted!!! Gingeroo........AMAZING!! I've been to NOLA countless times......even bought Michalopoulas art, been to the gallery and never knew he (Michalopoulas) was behind it!! What a great side trip! I love to contribute to the cities/places I go, it means a lot to me to give back to communities I fall in love with. Keep it up ,it was a great time and I will/and recommend it to everyone that I recommend your beautiful city to!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
“MUST DO 21+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the most fun, yet educational tours I have been on! Definitely a MUST SEE/ MUST DO while in New Orleans! Old New Orleans Cajun Spice is one of my favorite rums so when I found out there were tours of the distillery I had to go. The tour is a reasonable price and they offer a shuttle service to and from your hotel because it is a little off the beaten path.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old New Orleans Rum Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.