We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$10 great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
2815 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70122
+1 504-945-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 33 Food & Drink in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“$10 great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Its far from the quarter, so u have to catch a cab, but its worth it. The tour is informative, but the RUM, is really good! Will walk away feeling good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank colornclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Fun Quick Stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's a little off the beaten path, but a fun little diversion, and a great growing little distillery. Bob, one of the 9 full time employees, gave us a great tour of the working facility, with a well rounded tasting at the end of the tour. We ended up buying a couple of bottles of their 10 y/o rum, to be opened for VERY special occasions, down the road, YUM!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TCarr_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
338 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great off the beaten path tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our guide, Bob, was very informative about the process of distilling rum. and the history of their distillery. The walk through the building and equipment amazes one that 9 full time employees can produce so much rum in such a small place. The staff were friendly, there is very nice art, and you get to taste all of their product before you leave. Highly recommend for the rum enthusiast.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great little operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was a bit delayed as their van got in an accident (we got there early by cab). They kept us going with hard sweet tea as we waited for people to arrive by other, by the time the tour started we were well "prepared" for seeing how rum making is done. Its a small but successful little distillery. They make a good product, and enjoy doing it. The tour gives an interesting history. It was worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vcabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You might be uncomfortable driving in the neighborhood of the distillery so I would recommend taking their shuttle from one of two locations in the French Quarter. Bob provided a little tour of the city on the way to the distillery. Once you get there you are greeted with a Cajun Tea, iced tea with their spiced rum. Bob gave a very informative tour of the rum making process. We enjoyed the samples at the end and picked up two bottles of gingeroo to take home. We have had their spiced rum before, I love it but my wife isn't so fond of it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing