We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Quick Stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
2815 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA
504-945-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 243 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Factory Tours, Distilleries, Food & Drink, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Fun Quick Stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It's a little off the beaten path, but a fun little diversion, and a great growing little distillery. Bob, one of the 9 full time employees, gave us a great tour of the working facility, with a well rounded tasting at the end of the tour. We ended up buying a couple of bottles of their 10 y/o rum, to be opened for VERY special occasions, down the road, YUM!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    97
    26
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great off the beaten path tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our guide, Bob, was very informative about the process of distilling rum. and the history of their distillery. The walk through the building and equipment amazes one that 9 full time employees can produce so much rum in such a small place. The staff were friendly, there is very nice art, and you get to taste all of their product before you leave. Highly recommend for the rum enthusiast.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great little operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was a bit delayed as their van got in an accident (we got there early by cab). They kept us going with hard sweet tea as we waited for people to arrive by other, by the time the tour started we were well "prepared" for seeing how rum making is done. Its a small but successful little distillery. They make a good product, and enjoy doing it. The tour gives an interesting history. It was worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great little tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You might be uncomfortable driving in the neighborhood of the distillery so I would recommend taking their shuttle from one of two locations in the French Quarter. Bob provided a little tour of the city on the way to the distillery. Once you get there you are greeted with a Cajun Tea, iced tea with their spiced rum. Bob gave a very informative tour of the rum making process. We enjoyed the samples at the end and picked up two bottles of gingeroo to take home. We have had their spiced rum before, I love it but my wife isn't so fond of it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great tour , great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The distillery looks a little scary on the outside, but once you enter you get a nice change . The girls inside are very pleasant and you are greeted with a Cajun tea . Bob was very friendly and very informative , he knew everything there was to know about the rum !!! After the tour you get to try all four of there rums and their gingerroo, omg the gingerroo was amazing ! The ten year rum was incredibly smooth, a little pricey for me at $50 a bottle. I guess if your a rum drinker it would be well worth it and only $10 for a tour , a drink , and 5 samples .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old New Orleans Rum Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.