We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little operation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old New Orleans Rum Distillery

Old New Orleans Rum Distillery
2815 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA
504-945-9400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 181 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Factory Tours, Distilleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Celebration Distillery, located in the Gentilly area of New Orleans, is the Oldest Premium Rum Distillery in US and the only in Louisiana. Tours Times:Monday-Friday at 12pm, 2pm & 4pmSaturdays at 2pm & 4pm. The cost is $10/person. Call to book complimentary transportation from the French Quarter Monday-Friday.
albuquerque
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great little operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was a bit delayed as their van got in an accident (we got there early by cab). They kept us going with hard sweet tea as we waited for people to arrive by other, by the time the tour started we were well "prepared" for seeing how rum making is done. Its a small but successful little distillery. They make a good product, and enjoy doing it. The tour gives an interesting history. It was worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    96
    23
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

You might be uncomfortable driving in the neighborhood of the distillery so I would recommend taking their shuttle from one of two locations in the French Quarter. Bob provided a little tour of the city on the way to the distillery. Once you get there you are greeted with a Cajun Tea, iced tea with their spiced rum. Bob gave a very informative tour of the rum making process. We enjoyed the samples at the end and picked up two bottles of gingeroo to take home. We have had their spiced rum before, I love it but my wife isn't so fond of it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great tour , great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The distillery looks a little scary on the outside, but once you enter you get a nice change . The girls inside are very pleasant and you are greeted with a Cajun tea . Bob was very friendly and very informative , he knew everything there was to know about the rum !!! After the tour you get to try all four of there rums and their gingerroo, omg the gingerroo was amazing ! The ten year rum was incredibly smooth, a little pricey for me at $50 a bottle. I guess if your a rum drinker it would be well worth it and only $10 for a tour , a drink , and 5 samples .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great mini tour - excellent spice rum - -wish it was available in TN - Bob does it all from driver to city tour guide and distillery guide

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the outside, the distillery looks a little shaky - neighborhood included. You're in for a pleasant surprise once you get through the front door. Very nice lobby/shop/tasting room. Pleasant & knowledgeable staff plus a very interesting tour of the distillery & bottling operation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old New Orleans Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Old New Orleans Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old New Orleans Rum Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.