We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach infested, dirty, rundown. AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel to your Saves list
AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel
1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cockroach infested, dirty, rundown. AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Backpacked across the states with a friend so stayed at a lot of hostels with Bourbon House being the last one. When we were shown to our dorm we were shocked, there seemed to be no signs of recent cleaning and the bunk beds were extremely high (you couldn't sit up in the top bunk) with no guard rail. It was then that we noticed that the place was absolutely infested with cockroaches. Like, we couldn't move for seeing a cockroach in broad daylight. To top it off there were very few bathrooms, all of which were impossible to use as they were unclean.
The area the hostel was in was intimidating, upon leaving the hostel our taxi driver was shocked that two young women were staying there and would have been walking around that area even in daylight.
Within an hour of checking in we booked a hotel in the French Quarter that wasn't much more than the hostel would have been. The guy at the hostel reception was shocked that we were unhappy or found the place dirty and stated the in the summer in New Orleans it was impossible to find any where to stay that wasn't infested with roaches. He said we were wasting our money checking out as this was the case. (It wasn't, our hotel was lovely and immaculate). He offered us half of our money back after a while of us arguing and then refused to help us book a taxi to take us to our new hotel.
Please, if you aren't used to living in squalor avoid this place. We stayed in many hostels in the US and never once had somewhere come close to even being half as bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    28
    32
    19
    12
See reviews for
1
20
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here in april and this is the cleanest hostel I stayed in during my week in New Orleans.
Meet a lot of cool people and had a great time. Very friendly staff that gave some good recommendations for best Po-Boys in the neighbourhood. Located a bit off the central New Orleans (Bourbon Street) but right next to the fantastic Magazine Street.

I stayed in a room with 8 beds and had a great time. One heads up though, the walls are thin so it gets noisy. Especially the room close to the kitchen. If you don't like to wake up early try to get another room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Considering all the mega hotels in town, you'd expect there to be a lot of tourism and business in this city, but it's pretty short on budget accomodation - which means that this place doesn't need to be nearly as good as it actually is, but fortunately for us, it is.

This is a great place to stay in New Orleans.

Friendly and informative staff - Maya, Shane and Caleb really helped with every aspect of my stay and had loads of useful local knowledge. It's about 15 minute walk into the city centre, and 15 minutes in the other direction takes you to a mega Walmart with everything you'd need to buy for self catering. There's a kitchen which is well equipped and there's a supply of tea bags and the like during the day and a free breakfast in the morning.

Rooms are clean, crowd is young and energetic.

A few things to note...

NO CREDIT CARDS, so bring cash or an ATM card - they have an ATM on the premises to pay for your stay.

The lockers aren't big enough to fit rucksacks, so be careful you don't trip over any that might be on the floor on your way to your bunk in the dark.

The shuttle bus from the airport won't stop here, but they come close.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor, on the main corridor in the hall and it was still a quiet night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you're looking for a hostel which is cheap, clean, has a friendly vibe and is within a walkable distance to all the best tourist areas of New Orleans - heres your place.

I stayed there solo, met a whole bunch of different groups passing through who were welcoming and fun and can't say a bad word about it.

AAE is comfortable, secure, has fantastic staff (who will do their best to help you out with anything you ask), and is a chilled fun place where you can easily meet other young travellers and have a few beers.

If you're looking for something fancy, with a 2 minute walking distance to the French Quarter and with luxuries in every place you look then get ready to spend a whole lot more money because Bourbon House is not that.

What it is, is a extremely good place to stay, whether you want to party to chill out, you can find what you need.

My recommendation - stay there! And have an amazing time doing it :)

Room Tip: Female dorm is quieter and my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was disappointed by my stay in this house. For the price I think it's overrated. I literally slept in a closet.
The breakfast by the way was good and I enjoyed it.
The location is also not the best. But this place is still recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I are seniors and stayed in a small private room for 6 nights during Mardi Gras.
Our rate was very reasonable, especially for a stay during Mardi Gras.
The staff is great, exceedingly helpful and friendly. The make-it-yourself from the batter AM pancakes are good as is the better than average coffee available, although one morning they ran out; fortunately I travel with my own and made a pot for all.

Free on-street parking. Although it's a long walk to the French Quarter, we did it every day, except one when we shared a cab with others.

There is a common room with a computer, TV, WIFI, laundry, a kitchen open from 8AM until midnight, and a large outdoor area for eating, socializing, etc.

On property ATM is handy; $2.50 charge for use is reasonable. However, their website says Credit Cards accepted, and they are NOT. We wouldn't have known if we hadn't called in advance, so we had cash with us. There are bars and restaurants that do not take credit cards; perhaps this is only during Mardi Gras.

Previously we've stayed in several hostels but mostly abroad where our experience was with properties that are neater, cleaner, old, but not run down, and with clearer rules regarding hours and noise. New Orleans is a party city, and it is a youth hostel. During our 6 night stay in a private room in the back building, the noise was not too bad, and everyone was very polite and tried to be considerate.

4 Bathrooms, so when they are full with 70 people, I believe, it's just not enough!

Besides the price and the staff, the best things were the folks we met of all ages staying here. Very interesting nice people of all ages with whom we had great conversations and good times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I just returned from New Orleans where I stayed at the Bourbon Hotel for three nights. I have mixed feelings about this place.. and will try to be as comprehensive and fair as possible in my review.. Let me start with the positive attributes that this place has: 1) the staff is incredibly polite, competent and willing to help. I have interacted mostly with Shane who works in the morning and Megan and Maya who work night shifts but all of them have been incredibly helpful. this is a real plus.. it is not easy to find nice staff in crowded hostels 2) the staff has very good suggestions on great jazz concerts and live music events throughout the city.. so they will be able to help you decide where to go.... 3) the hostel is located in a non-touristy area.. this is - in a way - a plus... if you want to experience New Orleans in a different way.. and the hostel is also close to a Wallmart .. for cheap shopping. 4) the kitchen is good and well furnished, clean and available from 8 in the morning to midnight if you want to save money and do some cooking.. also in the morning they offer pancakes and free coffee.. which is also a plus 5) overall the facility is relatively clean, they have four bathrooms with showers and a very nice patio for guests to enjoy

Now on the NOT so positive side: 1) this place is the nosiest hostel I have ever been too in my entire life. I have traveled tons and stayed almost always in hostels.. but this is pure anarchy. People are allowed to come in and out with their key at ANY hour of the day and guests are mostly undergraduates on their spring break or young tourists from Australia and other countries. Just last week they had a group of Aussie guys.. they came in at 3 or 4 am in the morning, drunk, shouting in the hall and waking up everybody in the hostel. I had lots of troubles sleeping.. and this is a major downside for me.. particularly if you are in New Orleans to enjoy the city. THINK CAREFULLY about this because this can affect your ability to truly enjoy the city!!!! I underestimated the reviews about the noise.. but I should have paid more attention!
2) also on the downside.. this hostel is in a sort of doggy area.. when it gets dark it is not advisable particularly for girls and women to go around by themselves.. and it is quite far from the downtown area.. for instance if you want to go to the French Quarter and have some drinks and then return home.. think that you will have to walk roughly 25/30 minutes or take a cab for $15/18....
3) finally rooms are very crowded and small, bed are not comfortable... at all.. I am aware that this is a very cheap hostel.. again, think about it when you decide whether to book the hostel.

All in all, my staying in New Orleans was fabulous but the lack of sleep really affected my energy throughout the day.. this to me was a major downside of the accommodation. I hope the review helps.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel

Address: 1660 Annunciation Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are AAE Bourbon House Mansion and Hostel, located only 18 minutes walking to the French Quarter and famous "Bourbon Street". In the "lower Garden District" we are 5 minutes walk to the Convention Center and the only Guest House/ Hostel that provides a FREE Shuttle to and from Greyhound and Amtrack. We also have airport shuttle for as low as $15 a person. All guests, either dorm beds or deluxe private rooms get to enjoy FREE BREAKFAST, Free Internet, Free Shuttles, Free Parking and a great Guest House full of European Travelers that create an exciting environment. We welcome all ages and have private rooms for families that sleep up to 8 people available. We are the "top rated" hostel in New Orleans and there is a reason for that... because were the best choice from the traveling public viewpoint! Come stay with us and be happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Bourbon House Mansion And Hostel
Aae Bourbon House Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.