We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alot of cool stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Pharmacy Museum

New Orleans Pharmacy Museum
514 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
504-565-8027
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$19*
and up
New Orleans Haunted Walking Tour: Ghosts...
Ranked #47 of 470 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the first licensed apothecary shop, the Pharmacy Museum includes cures for anything that ails you including voodoo potions and other weird medicines.
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Alot of cool stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found out about this place from a suggestion by one of the tour guides we had. My girlfriend works in medicine, so she wanted to go here. It is only $5/person to get in, which is a great price for the amount of stuff they have in here. It is alot of reading with no "interactive" displays, so kids may find it a bit tedious and boring. Everything is displayed in different categories, and there is alot of stuff to look at and read about. It is amazing how far we have come in medicine and it is interesting to look back at the medical stuff they used back then. There is a courtyard out back and a second floor full of displays. So if you look in the window when they are closed, don't assume the room you see is the whole museum. For $5 a person, this was a great stop with alot of cool things to look at and read about.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    68
    22
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You will learn interesting new things here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a long time in this museum from 1823's. There were many early medical devices, pills, prescriptions, and medical information that we knew nothing about before reading all the informative signs. There was a lot about early alcohol and drug use and the problems associated with that. Two floors of displays to visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our visit to the pharmacy museum was a highlight of the trip. It was fascinating. We did the guided tour, which starts at noon. Our guide was informative and very funny. It was interesting to learn more about the history of the city from a medical perspective. And at only $5, we definitely got our money's worth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The back story is the most interesting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are a pharmacy enthusiast, this is the perfect place to visit. I prefer the haunted story of the second pharmacist that practiced medicine there. Spooky. No access to the second floor where all the weird stuff took place, but there is definitely a strange atmosphere by the stairs. Take a haunted tour and find out about that location... Or, if you like old school glasses or spectacles, there is a big collection there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is a self guided tour but very much worth the time. In this city famous for vampires, the jar of live leeched on the counter is not at all out of place. Very nice representation of how people got their prescription and other medicaments.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Pharmacy Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Pharmacy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Pharmacy Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.