We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beauregard-Keyes House

Beauregard-Keyes House
1113 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
504-523-7257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 173 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Occupants of this historic house, now a museum, included Confederate General P.G.T. Beauregard and novelist Frances Parkinson Keyes.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Loved this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Very informative and it was wonderful to be able to go through the home.
Would definitely recommend this tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a nice example of a New Orleans home. Our tour guide was quite a character which made for some interesting moments in our four person tour. He was knowledgable on the area and gave us some good restaurant tips. Anyway, the house itself has some nice things in it and is beautifully decorated. There is a piano they will let guests play, which is rare. This is literally across the street from the Old Ursuline Convent and we did them together.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“pleasant hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The house is open for tours on the hour, just turn up and bang on the hour the guide will come to the front door. Pleasant hour spent learning of the history of the house. Interesting place!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed touring this beautiful home. The tour guide, Ott, was especially knowlegeable and witty. He seemed to have a real love for this old home. The decor was spot on as was the attentiion to detail. It's a fantastic value for a little bit of money, a true must see!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour fantastic gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We went here around 10:30am and were the only two on the tour, the guide was extremely knowledgeable about the general and the author who restored the house and the tour gives complete access. The whole house has been completely restored and is a fascinating insight into that era. Our guide even apologised to us because he said the house was old, coming from the UK he said our old houses were 'really old'. A bonus is the gift shop which although it does not carry a vast amount of items they are different and good value I actually spent Monet in this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauregard-Keyes House also viewed

 

Been to Beauregard-Keyes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauregard-Keyes House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.