We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beauregard-Keyes House

Beauregard-Keyes House
1113 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
504-523-7257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 171 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Occupants of this historic house, now a museum, included Confederate General P.G.T. Beauregard and novelist Frances Parkinson Keyes.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed touring this beautiful home. The tour guide, Ott, was especially knowlegeable and witty. He seemed to have a real love for this old home. The decor was spot on as was the attentiion to detail. It's a fantastic value for a little bit of money, a true must see!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour fantastic gift shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We went here around 10:30am and were the only two on the tour, the guide was extremely knowledgeable about the general and the author who restored the house and the tour gives complete access. The whole house has been completely restored and is a fascinating insight into that era. Our guide even apologised to us because he said the house was old, coming from the UK he said our old houses were 'really old'. A bonus is the gift shop which although it does not carry a vast amount of items they are different and good value I actually spent Monet in this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice tour of a beautiful home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Rang the bell promptly at 2 with no answer....after about 5 minutes of waiting I called the phone number and the gentleman answered saying he was on his way. It was just my husband, son and me for the tour and the cost was $10 for me. My husband is military so I assume he was free and the guide didn't charge for my son which was exceptionally nice of him. I don't remember the tour guides name but he was very nice and personable. His love of the home is evident and he's chalk full of great information about it! The home is just lovely and a great little addition to our day spent in the quarter!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely house right in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This house is convenient to the French Quarter and is on the national historic registry. Tours start every hour on the hour until 3pm. We were charged the senior rate of $8 and the full fare is $9, I believe. The tour guide clearly loves the house and has many stories to tell that make the house interesting. Mr. Beauregard built the house and was in the civil war. Mrs. Keyes was a well known author in the area and published over 50 books and lived in the house in the early 1900's. The house has lots of interesting furnishings and portraits and the back quarters are also interesting where Mrs. Keyes wrote her books and lived in her later years. They also have a collection of dolls; not all are on display as they are renovating the room in which they were kept, none the less interesting to see the ones on display. The tour lasts about an hour and there is a small gift shop. Lovely courtyard and small formal garden. The house is a center hall with large rooms on both sides and well furnished.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice old house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice tour but make sure you are on time they will not wait for you.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauregard-Keyes House also viewed

 

Been to Beauregard-Keyes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauregard-Keyes House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.