We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice old house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beauregard-Keyes House

Beauregard-Keyes House
1113 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116
504-523-7257
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Beauregard-Keyes House like an insider
Top Rated
$26*
and up
French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #56 of 466 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Occupants of this historic house, now a museum, included Confederate General P.G.T. Beauregard and novelist Frances Parkinson Keyes.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice old house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice tour but make sure you are on time they will not wait for you.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    35
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Mississippi
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

No tours after 3pm and none at all on Sunday! But interesting!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

No reservation necessary. Just show up on time. Takes less than an hour. Beautiful home every room is fully decorated. It's a guided tour and our guide told us a little bit of history and every room. There's also servants quarters and a garden on the property.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend an hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

After ringing the front bell at the crack of noon, we were welcomed into the Beauregard-Keyes House by resident manager Ott Howell. Mr. Howell clearly loves this historic property and enjoys sharing it and the stories of its residents with visitors. He really brings each room to life and welcomes curiosity. After a colorful tour of the main house, courtyard and rear structures, we ended up in the little gift shop, which is full of the out-of-print books written by Frances Keyes, the woman who restored the property. It's all very charming and well worth the hour or so.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Glad we did it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The main house was nice but I enjoyed the gardens and back parts of the house more myself. It was an interesting tour and we're glad we did it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauregard-Keyes House also viewed

 

Been to Beauregard-Keyes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beauregard-Keyes House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.