We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you don't mind waiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien New Orleans to your Saves list
Le Meridien New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Poydras St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #94 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
KATY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“if you don't mind waiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a very nice hotel. Upon entering, it looks very upscale and comfortable. The rooms are comfortable and clean and was more than enough for the two of us. However, check in was delayed by an hour (we arrived after their check in time). The bar was slow...took forever to get a drink and they looked so sad to be working there. The cost of valet is outrageous but we learned you could park at Harrah's, play for 30 minutes and get free parking. I actually recommend that because with the cost and waiting for valet, it's much easier to just park across the street.

Otherwise, everything was nice and in a great location.

Room Tip: get a room higher up for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
29
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a few day getaway at Le Meridien. I love what they did with the hotel while changing it from a W. Feels much more grown up, stylish in a mature sort of way.

Great staff. All smiling, charming personalities from the Concierge to the bar team.

Thank you for a great stay !

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We reserved a block of rooms with the Group Sales Agent, Beth-Anne at this very cool, hip and convenient hotel, steps from Harrah Casino's front door. It was my husband's 50th Birthday and we had friends from Boston and Florida joining us for a fun weekend celebration this past Memorial Day. From excited reservation-making to hung-over check-out experience, we couldn't have asked for a more accommodating staff! We were immediately upgraded to a beautiful suite so we had a place to "gather" and were greeted with NOLA style hospitality...fine wine, locally brewed beers and great deserts...ALL ON THE HOUSE! I had several packages delivered to the hotel and they were quickly delivered to our room so the party never slowed down!! The valet's put is in cabs and cheerfully pointed us in the direction of great restaurants, street car stops, quick beer runs and many other destinations! We walked to Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, Frenchman's Street, a nearby troll car stop, Mother's Diner and Harrah's and packed sooo much into a great weekend. The pool was small but did have a bar on the weekend and the work out room was large and just what we needed. I can't say enough about Beth-Anne and her staff!! We will be back, very soon, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! :) Thank you Le Meridien....class act all the way!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river are nice for a view but this is a downtown hotel and most rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was recommend by our travel agent. We were hesitant since we never heard of the hotel. Great staff, the checking in was flawless with our flight coming in hours late. Room service came and provided room service and poured the coffee in our cups. No complaints here. We dine in one night due to weather conditions and ate in the dining room. We order crab cakes, pulled pork and some other items. Harvey our waiter was attentive to our needs and the host Natasha was very personal able telling us things to do in New Orleans. We met Chef Mauricio and had the opportunity to thank him for a delicious meal. We do have one complaint. The room doors up stairs in the rooms shut loudly and awake you out of your sleep. The doors need silencers. Fix that and this place in my book is a 5 star.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my son (on a boys trip to Mardi Gras) spend two nights at this hotel. Nice property and rooms. It is on the parade route for some parades which is nice. Easy walking distance to the french quarter but away from the crowd.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just spent the Memorial weekend at this hotel and was very pleased. The service was excellent from the check-in to check-out. The hotel is very clean and modern looking and the staff have obviously been instructed to make eye contact and greet you when they see you. It was the week of my birthday which the clerk acknowledged when he looked at my ID. A few minutes after check-in I had a bottle of champagne arrive in my room compliments of the hotel!
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the French Quarter and museums, which we did each day. We did not find it necessary to drive or take cabs anywhere we wanted to go.
The bar just off of the lobby was convenient for the complimentary coffee, espresso, cappuccino daily. The barista was very friendly and informative. The rooms were nice and spacious and the view out the window overlooked the Mississippi river.. Room had a king bed and couch. The bathroom could have used a little more counter space for my fiance's "stuff" but had a big walk-in shower. The beds are the normal super comfy beds Sheraton is known for.
I was there during the time the elevator was down as one reviewer mentioned but it really was a small inconvenience for us. We had no close time schedules as we were on vacation so the short wait was not a problem. I have a business and we have elevators that occasionally stop for one reason or another with safety overrides so I understand these things happen, and always at the worst time.
My only real complaint about the hotel is the valet parking rates. I thought $43 a day was a bit extravagant and higher than some of similar hotels in the area. I had not seen that rate anywhere on the website. (It might be there, I just didn't see it)
Overall we had a great stay and will certainly consider staying thee again if we return.
(Disclaimer: We are Starwood Preferred Guest members)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel has had a major renovation and name change (was the W). Rooms are very nice and beds are comfortable. Location is very convenient to the convention center for those that are in town for a convention. They have a popular, trendy bar that was always crowded in the evenings.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher levels and facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Meridien New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien New Orleans

Address: 333 Poydras St., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Hotel New Orleans Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open after a $29 million dollar revitalization and located just steps from the notorious French Quarter but in a quieter location for a peaceful night's rest, our hotel is close to shopping, Harrah's Casino and the Warehouse District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Meridien New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
w Hotels New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.