We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff....best kept secret in New Orelans!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #101 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location, friendly staff....best kept secret in New Orelans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I was in New Orleans for a business trip and had booked a room at the Maison St. Charles due to its close proximity to where I needed to be for work. I was there for just one night, but my experience at this hotel was very memorable.

The location is great....it's in the Garden District and it’s just a 5 minute drive to the French Quarter. The trolley runs right in front of the hotel and cabs are also plentiful in the area. If you have your own car, the hotel has ample parking for their guests. There’s even enough parking for tour buses…..which is apparently very rare in that area.

There are several restaurants and some shops that are walking distance from the hotel, too. For those that are looking for a hotel to stay at during Mardi Gras, I would definitely suggest this one. It is along the parade route of several parades. I actually got to see one the evening I stayed there, which was very cool and unexpected.

The staff was awesome…..very friendly and helpful. Even the hotel manager was interacting with the guests staying there. He suggested several restaurants close by that me and my colleague could eat at, and he kept us updated on when the parade would be coming by the hotel so we could see it.

The hotel itself is very charming and unique. I stayed in one of their suites, which is actually part of a historical home built in the 1840’s. It was very spacious…..full living room, bedroom, kitchenette area, and 2 bathrooms. I was informed by the staff that my room (# 126) is apparently haunted. I didn’t see any ghosts that night (of course, I slept with a light on), but some of the staff and other guests have experienced ghost sightings.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel. It’s affordable, in a great location, the staff is great, and it’s very charming. I will definitely stay there again the next time I’m in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    243
    119
    68
    42
See reviews for
168
210
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

Helpful, friendly staff. When I booked the room I asked specifically about parking and was told one thing that was different than what I was told at check-in. The desk clerk took care of everything immediately and I truly appreciated it. The staff is professional and friendly. Rates were reasonable if not a great buy. The street car is merely steps from the front door so it's easy to get to the Quarter or around the Garden District.
That said, it would have been nice if the toilet had a seat on it. Women like toilet seats -- and, yes we like them down because we sit down to put on our hose. It would also have been nice if the Community Coffee served at the continental breakfast had also been in the rooms. The in-room coffee was too weak and tasteless to bother making. Do yourself a favor and drop by Rouses on Royal St. and pick up some 4-cup packs of Community Coffee.
Also, it's an older hotel but they have made an effort to have enough outlets. One or two more would be helpful what with laptops, cell phones, hair rollers, coffee pot, iron . . .
Because we never expect absolute, anal-retentive perfection and actually enjoy the differences between cities, hotels and their staffs, I rate this hotel as a wonderful experience and hope to stay there again. It's clean, quiet and has a great location and professional staff.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — In-room coffee and no seat for toilet.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgingdude, general manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, February 13, 2009
Thank you very much for writing your review. I will check with community coffee and find out if I can purchase the in room amenities from them to carry on the New Orleans flare. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I'll stick to the facts: Paid $85 per night for a queen deluxe. Stayed 4 nights. Room was located mere feet from a filthy janitor's closet from which a team of hotel employees emerged noisily and ceaselessly each day beginning at 8:00am and and ending sometime in the afternoon, banging their carts into the door and leaving bags of rank garbage and cleaning equipment in the pathway. The nearby corner nook resembled a makeshift toilet found in the alley of some Third World country, stained and always filthy - a place that if you dropped a ten dollar bill you might just leave it. But this is nothing. A large portion of the hotel was under construction and unoccupied, so there were no rooms to move to. All night long forklifts hummed and beeped and things crashed and rattled about 60 feet from our room. It was so absurd it was almost funny. Almost. The pool area is great too if you're an unsavory looking character who likes to stay up all hours playing dominoes, cussin', and suckin' down daiquaris. The oddest thing of all is that the employees thought nothing of the construction madness, the noise and mess - and when I pulled the car around to load up the bags I was barked at and forced to park my car on the street and push everything up the block. Bizarre. The room itself: average size, had no cold water, and the air conditioning maxed out at around 70 degrees - which is just a touch too warm. The TV was 17 or 19-inch - quite a splurge... Not! All in all, it was a strange place to stay and I will never in a million years return. The location is great, however. Surely the hotel's owner is either a world class slime bag or just doesn't give a hoot. Hey! It's New Orleans - who cares about cleanliness and quiet!?

  • Liked — location, value
  • Disliked — construction noise, uncleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

When you drive up to the hotel it seems like it could be in a bad neighborhood but it isn't bad at all. It is located in the Garden District which is about 5 minutes from the French Quarter. I experienced excellent customer service from everyone I encountered. The rooms were simple but adequate. I brought a cat, so they were pet friendly too. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to the French Quarter
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here, There, Everywhere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

I would gladly have given this hotel a five star rating, but I'm absolutely certain that all of us - including our dog - got sick from the hotel water. What's worse is that they wouldn't respond to our e-mail complaint about it.

Anyway, aside from 5 days of diarrhea following our stay, we really enjoyed this hotel and the city of New Orleans. The staff were nice and helpful, the hotel was really cool, and the street car stop couldn't have been more convenient. Breakfast was pretty good, and we liked checking out the hotel grounds in the evening. The place is dog-friendly, which was a requirement for us.

You can tell that the buildings are old, but I found it charming. Everything worked fine, and the room was very comfortable. The hotel chain bought all the buildings on a city block and turned them into hotel rooms. So breakfast is in one building, laundry is in another, check-in is in another, and so on. It's pretty neat to walk to the various buildings and see the different architecture, plants, etc. Everything is gated in, and I felt pretty safe, even in the evening.

There is a great restaurant about 7 blocks from the hotel. I think it was called the Cheesecake Bistro. It was fantastic. I definitely recommend grabbing a drink or bite to eat there. We also took the street cars into the French Quarter several times. We walked around by the Mississippi, visited Bourbon Street, and checked out a really pretty cathedral. We had a blast drinking on Bourbon Street at night. Every single thing we ate was amazing. The food can't be beat. Even the greasy pub we stopped at had awesome fries.

I definitely recommend this hotel and visiting New Orleans. Just an important tip... don't drink the water!!!

  • Liked — Convenient to the French Quarter and great food, fun times, and good drinks.
  • Disliked — The 5 days of diarrhea from drinking the hotel water.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BG, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

I've stayed here before and it's still the same great place. Clean, big rooms in 3-story buildings, clustered around courtyards. We overlooked the pool. The St. Charles streetcar stops right out front. The free continental breakfast is yummy. The front desk staff personnel are very polite and helpful. And it's cheap! $80 a night. The grounds are gated and guest parking is in an adjacent gated lot so there aren't a bunch of cars right next to your room door. Our room had a minifridge and microwave and they have free wireless. There's a bathroom area counter outside the shower/toilet room for plenty of dressing area. Our room had two queen beds, dresser, desk, table and two upholstered chairs and wasn't cramped.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

I have now returned to this hotel twice for a week each time and LOVED it! For the price, you get a great deal of value. The rooms are pristine, compact and offer everything that you need for a comfy stay. The courtyards and pool were great! the Staff are very friendly, talkative and open to any and all questions, As someone who had to park a large van, their secure exterior lot was so amazing. If you are looking to be able to walk out of your hotel door and be in the heart of New Orleans, you are going to pay twice as much than the Maison St. Charles. If you want easy access to local transportation and the Garden District, great local eateries (Slice is a slice of heaven!) and want to save your travel money to eat and shop-- stay here!

  • Liked — value
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Address: 1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.