We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #92 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'd really like to find a way to give it a better rating just because of the great staff. However, there were just too many little things. The first room had a broken safe and a non-working deadbolt. They didn't hesitate to get me a new room and it was an upgrade from what I had booked. However, it was on the third floor and the elevator was broken during all three days of my stay. Kind of an odd layout with several individual two and three story buildings behind the street-side façade and lobby. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance, but the "Tapis" restaurant attached to the hotel was more of a nightclub and was packed by the hip-hop crowd. Gladly stored my luggage for free on checkout day so I could spend the afternoon at the World War II museum.

Room Tip: St. Charles streetcar runs right in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our great staff. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    219
    101
    58
    36
See reviews for
146
186
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a living social deal. The hotel was great, but a bit noisy. You should expect that in NOLA though. Our room was beautiful and clean, however the bathroom was tiny. Comedy ensued when my 6 foot 4 inch husband tried to take a shower! The lowdown is: it's close to the trolley, serves as a great base outside the French quarter, offers value for money, but don't expect the Ritz!!! If you are in town to sightsee and party, it's ideal!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the clean room and convenient location. We are scheduled to renovation our bathrooms later this year, which will include an adjustable shower head. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While on a trip just arriving to cities without booking we wanted something close to French Quarter and Bourbon Street without the price tag of staying in the middle of that area. We stopped at Lot of hotels on St Charles street which were all very pricey when u add the taxes on top plus parking We were so happy to find Quality Inn And the price tag suited our budget. $112 plus tax plus parking of $17. About $60 cheaper than other hotels in the same street There is street. Car or team right out front that takes u to main junction of Bourban street. So close to everything yet just on fringe of city in the garden area. Lots of rooms. Security guard on duty in enclosed grounds good breakfast included. Elevators. Pool. Hot tub not working when we there. Rooms very clean. Bed and pillows comfy. Thoroughly recomend the Mexican tapas restaurant on grounds.

Room Tip: We had 131 on bottom floor. Fine but was outside ice and vending machines Although they were not noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles, especially the price and location. We hope we have an opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This property is well located next to a stop on the St. Charles street car line and is priced right, especially when compared to other room rates in New Orleans. The staff was very friendly and responsive.

However, when we checked into our room, we found that the curved shower curtain rod brackets has pulled out form the wall and that half of the toilet paper holder was also pulled out of the wall. We called the front desk, and the maintenance man on duty looked at the problems, called the front desk, and got us another room. As it turned out, there were no rooms available, so the put is into a suite. We appreciated that - the suite was nice, but the bathroom was small, and one of these curtain rod brackets had pulled out form the wall as well. However, the shower was still useable.

The breakfast room was low and dark, but the food was satisfactory.

This property is in need of a major "sprucing up". I doubt we will be going to New Orleans in the future, and am not sure we would stay here again.

Again, the staff was most friendly, and we got a pleasant surprise when we checked out and were told we not be charged $17.00/night for parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We sincerely apologize that your initial room was not satisfactory. We are scheduled to have a full renovation of the bathrooms later this year. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Staff was exceptionally friendly and kind. Rooms were clean and the location is optimal for wandering the town. Streetcar stops right by the door. Able to walk to good bars and restaurants also.
Just can't say enough good.
We will be returning
Safe affordable parking also

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the friendly staff and the clean rooms. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaunee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was disapponted in the bathrooms in this room. Not the cleanest. Also remote on TV did not work well and left a note for house cleaning to change batteries. They did not fix this problem. Was a little pricey for room. A few of the staff were very friendly and others would not give you the time of day. Had a very lovely lady help us one day to explaine the travels options but other than her not friendly. The bath room was very old dirty and dusty. I wrote a note to tell her to clean arounf the rim on the toilet but that never got done. Also the mat in the tub was coming off and asked for that to get fixed never happened. I could not sit in the tub becasue the backing on the mat was coming off and had paper in the tub. Also the hot tub was not working all the while we were there. We came in for such a vacation and had to pay a higher price for a few nights because the final four was in town. then the last night the price dropped. FOr the price was not the cleaniest. They need to dust around the floors and mop boards in bathroom.

Room Tip: this is in a good location you can get on the trolly right out front of hotel. also they could offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We sincerely apologize that you stay was not satisfactory. We do have a renovation scheduled later this year. We hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. It was very neat and clean. The pool has outstanding hours. It opens very early and closes very late, which is the way it should be. They offer a free breakfast, but for some reason the food room is kept painfully cold. It's almost unbearable to walk in to get your breakfast.

The location is not that far from the french quarter. It's very family friendly as well. The walls are pretty thin though, and the bathtub was very small. While I was there, I was told they would be getting remodeled soon.

If you are staying here, you will want to ride the streetcar in or take a taxi. From what I have seen, I wouldn't recommend driving into the french quarter. If you're looking to get away from the overly expensive hotel rooms in the quarter, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the clean room and beautiful pool. We do have a renovation scheduled later this year. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Address: 1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.