We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel with a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here the night before leaving on a cruise. This hotel is in a great location. It's very close to the cruise terminal, very close to the Garden District and is right on the streetcar line that takes you right to the French Quarter. Reception was very nice and hotel has a charming, boutique type feel to it. Our room had great decor although the bathroom (bathtub in particular) needed some updating. We got an excellent rate so for us the value was terrific. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles! Thank you for your comments about our location and friendly reception. We hope you had a lovely cruise and will come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    267
    140
    79
    51
See reviews for
195
234
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were traveling via Amtrak on our return from Mesa,AZ and as Amtrak does not offer overnights in New Orleans, and a change of trains is required, we needed to stay someplace.
A previous overnight on the first portion of the trip was at a 4 Star- booked through PriceLine. What a joke that wound up to be.
On the other hand, this place, although only listed as 2 Stars, was a very personable, homey place.
We loved the courtyards and the fountains. The room was not exceptional, but the staff was above reproach. Add to that a very decent breakfast, plenty of hot water for shower (the four star didn't have enough for one!), and in a quiet part of town to boot- not too far from what we needed. And the bus line right out front for when we wanted an inexpensive ride to the far side of the French Quarter to meet up with friends for some wonderful live jazz...
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles! We appreciate your comments abut our location, breakfast, courtyards and personable staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Front desk staff were super friendly and very helpful. Lobby is beautiful. Hotel is set up like a little village and is gated at night. Beautiful courtyard. The complementary breakfast was really nice and had a lot of different options.
The only things that were bad about our stay at this hotel were: room had a musty smell (got used to it after a few minutes), there was a crack in the door and the door handle looked like it was about to bust off. They really need to repair that door considering the hotel is kind of in a sketchy area. I would have felt much safer if the door was solid. Also, one of the main reasons I booked this hotel was because it was right on the St. Charles streetcar line... well, what I didn't know was that they are currenly repairing the tracks so it's out of service and doesn't pick up at the hotel. You have to either take the #12 bus or walk 10 blocks to Louisana St to pick up the street car. I would stay at this hotel again if they fixed the door. (Rm 116)

Room Tip: Avoid room 116 until they fix the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our grounds, breakfast and friendly staff. Thank you for letting us know abut your door problems. I have discussed this with my staff and our maintenance team is taking care of it! We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope you come back again and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel was clean, foyer nicer than rooms. Shower pressure was awful, bathrooms were cramped and old. Rooms smelled like smoke although they said it as smoke free completely. Had a resort look to the outside, clean and manicured. Breakfast good. bathrooms were a total disappointment and on that basis would not stay again. Bed was good however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast and grounds. I apologize about the smell of your room and have discussed your comments with our housekeeping staff. I wish I would have known while you were here so we could have moved you to another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

OK, so I typically stay at reasonably priced places. Here are the positives: The room was clean, beds comfortable, and staff very friendly. There is on site laundromat (very handy). The breakfast was nice to include hot cakes, waffles, HB eggs, toast, good coffee, and a nice seating area. The hotel is close to lee circle and steps to a wendys and the street car stop. If you are going to the french quarter or uptown to Tulane/Loyola, Audobon park, both areas are a short street car ride away. It is walking distance to Emerils. The pool was nice but small. It would be good for a quick cool off, newspaper read in the early evening. Here are the negatives: the room smelled from smoke and hotel room funk. It was really bad. I tried to keep the door open for awhile to air it out and the window was sealed shut. It was a bit weird, but I was desperate. For this reason, I don't think I would stay there again. However, it could be just that room. Assuming you got a stink free room, this place would be good for a family because of the onsite laundry facility (coin op, self serve). It was also quite quiet. It seemed more family oriented when I stayed there. I was on the ground floor and would have heard late night NOLA party going folks. Oh yes, there is also onsite parking for a daily fee which is nice if you are coming in by car.

Room Tip: Know there are ground floor rooms and ponder if this fits your situation Notify staff that you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreicate your comments about our guest laundy, location and breakfast. I do apologize about your room, I wish I would have known while you were here so we could have switched you to another room. I do thank you for bringing this to our attention and I have discussed your comments with our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 4 days and only had hot water pratialy on the next day. They always had an excuse. And even though they changed rooms for us - we still had no hot water once again. The hotel is very noisy by other guests.
Even thouhj the location is nice - walking distance from bothe the french quarter and the garden disstrict - I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I do apologize about the hot water situation, we had some issues with our boiler and now it has been fixed and resolved. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pass christian ms
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I did not read other Trip Advisor reviews closely enough. Maybe the *Maison* in this hotel's name fooled me - don't let it fool you! They have a 2011 Trip Advisor recommendation in the hotel lobby but it should be revoked. The mattresses in both beds were awful & as other reviewers mentioned, TV reception was only possible on a few channels. The bathroom was nasty & the towels were those awful rough white low-end towels - no one will steal those things, an upside for the Quality Inn shareholders I guess. Monday morning before 8 AM the gardeners were out in the courtyard with a Leaf Blower! PLEASE do yourself a favor & avoid this place like the plague!!

Room Tip: If there were good rooms, I didn't see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#119 of 155 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Central Business District
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#17 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#61 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#53 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Address: 1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.