We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Hotel, Good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #101 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty Hotel, Good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited this past weekend after purchasing a Groupon for a weekend stay which was a great deal. Hotel is split into a few separate buildings that look like they were renovated housing or something, not sure but it looked very nice, inside and out. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The St Charles St. streetcar is under construction, so the easy transportation to/from the french quarter wasn't as we had hoped. There are bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel and magazine street isn't too far of a walk either. Not sure I would walk to Bourbon Street though, it may have been ok in the daytime but it looked like somewhat of a shady walk. We ended up taking a cab to/from the french quarter every evening which was only $7-$10 each way. Continental breakfast was a continental breakfast, coffee, pastries, waffle bar, etc. Nothing awesome but most continental breakfasts in the US aren't anything spectacular anyway.

Room Tip: Our room was by the pool so it was a little loud at times but that is to be expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles! We are so delighted you had such a nice time. We appreciate your comments about our property and friendly staff. We hope we have the opportunity to provide your lodging accommodations again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    239
    118
    68
    42
See reviews for
168
208
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 and booked a room through a wedding block. The website looked promising and the reservation was easy. While the general area of the hotel was fine and it was convenient, we had enough problems that we would not consider staying at this hotel again. I would rather spend a bit more or stay a bit farther from the french quarter.

So here are the issues:
1. One receptionist had an attitude problem, she was curt and unhelpful during all interactions. The rest of the staff was nice, but we seemed to get her each time we had a question. She also copped an attitude about the parking fee, which we didn't have a problem with, but told her that we had not in fact been informed of it when she asked. Because of the attitude we encountered several times the first day when inquiring about things like a bus because the trolley was under construction, we didn't bother reporting the other problems that came up.
2. The sheets were too small for the bed and kept coming off
3. The bathroom was decently clean, except for the shower. The shower had hair all over the floor and some sort of gunk on the wall. It was all pretty obvious at first glance.
4. The worst part was the location of our room. We were put in the top room of what looked like the oldest part of the buildings. We had no issue with walking up three flights of stairs, but the door to one of the floors was jammed (it had swollen shut, an indication it hadn't been used much recently.) When we got into the building, the hall was sweltering hot and smelled like mildew. The carpet was covered in bits of paint and dust that had fallen from the ceilings and there seemed to water damage that wasn't repaired. Rooms throughout the building were wide open (doors open, lights on) and empty for pretty much the first 24 hours (the only other room on our floor was open the entire time) and we seemed to be alone in the building. All in all, it made us feel like we were stuck in the worst location of the hotel. Our room itself was decent, but the isolated and dilapidated condition of the rest of the building was unwelcoming at best.
5. The cost of parking was high, considering there was no key controlled entrance to the gated lot (they just never closed the gate it seems)

These are all small convenience issues, but generally made the stay unpleasant. Maybe we would have had a better experience if we had been in another part of the hotel. A few small repairs and a vacuum would have gone a long way to making the building more welcoming. Thankfully the rest of New Orleans was wonderful and we will go back someday (to another hotel).

Room Tip: Ask to be put somewhere besides the center building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. We value your patronage and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I have discussed your comments with our staff and while we realize your experience was partly due to the aftermath of Hurricane Isaac it is still unacceptable and we offer our sincere apologies and hope you will try us again one day. Please feel free to call us to discuss how we can make this up to you. Our number is 504-522-0187.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Arrived at this Quality Inn just before Hurricane Isaac and, though the hotel manager, Stephanie O'Rourke, is no relation the staff here took care of me like I was family. The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the French quarter in one direction and the best of the Garden District in the other. Museums are also within easy reach. Though undergoing repair when I was staying there the street car is just outside the hotel. Wifi was free and good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to New Orleans. We hate that the weather happened during your vacation. We appreciate your comments about our staff, we strive to provide the utmost customer satisfaction to all of our guests. We hope you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hermon, LA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Room was kind of run down but clean. If you get a king room it includes a refrigerator and microwave. Free wi-fi, good speed,flat screen TV but no HDMI input so I couldn't connect my laptop to stream movies from Netflix. Bed was fairly firm and comfortable, room was quiet in regards to traffic or outside noise other than your neighbors; we had people in the rooms on either side of us and never heard anything through the walls either. Room phone was out as well as Showtime during our 5 day stay despite the fact that maintenance told us that they had reported it to the phone and cable companies. Nicely landscaped grounds with scattered shaded seating areas, nice pool area. Breakfast was cheese omelet, turkey sausage, Belgian waffle, pastries, cereal, yogurt, some fruit, drinks, coffee from 6:30-9:00 weekdays, 7-10 weekends. Adding some salsa or hot sauce would be nice. Area is not the best but plenty safe to walk around during the day. Emerald has a restaurant across the street, a 24 hr bar/grill on the next corner, a few other restaurants within two blocks, an Office Depot on the next block and streetcar stops on the block. Streetcar line has undergoing repairs while we were there but the City added bus routes to take its place. Staff was very friendly and helpful although I wouldn't ask for restaurants recommendations; as a former resident and frequent visitor to New Orleans what I overheard as suggestions weren't where I would go, stick to nomenu.com for eateriies. Although the area isn't the best part of St. Charles Ave. the security was very good. They have a 24 hr guard, large metal gates that they close a night to turn the area into a secured compound and their parking lot next to the hotel (self park, $17 plus tax per nite) is also well fenced and closed and monitored at night. Should you need your car at night security will let you in to get it. Our party had to leave early due to Hurricane Isaac headed for New Orleans; management was very understanding and waived their cancellation rule. We all enjoyed our stay there and hated to leave early, especially since we had a fantastic rate and were facing several days of power outages across the lake. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with 1004 to 111 are in a nice area. King rooms have fridge & microwaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate all your comments about our property, breakfast and location. We hate that the weather cut your stay short! We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate your lodging accommodations again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 for Jazz Fest. Room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was good. Trolly stop right outside the door. Emeril's Demonico is right across the street as well. Would definately stay again! I felt it was a great value, loved the feel of the place and the pool was great as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles during Jazz Fest weekend. Thank you for your comments about breakfast and comfy rooms! We hope you come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Never again would we stay at this location, when we opened the room door the smell of mold and mildew almost made us leave immediately. The musty stink never went away even after we left the room door open to get fresh air. The bathroom was also filthy. The toilet was poorly cleaned, it had black stains and pubic hairs! The area around the tub drain was black and green and the tub wall was yellow, we were afraid to shower. We could not fall asleep because the room air was thick with must. We had to leave the room door open all night, which is not the safest thing to do in that area. The lock didn't work anyway. Pictures do not represent the condition of the rooms. Thankfully we only had to stay overnight. They charge you $17 for parking across the street. The car alarms went off all night. We could have park for free in the street for the amount of security the lot provided.The gate was never locked. We should have slept in the car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We would love to have a chance to follow up with you and take corrective action. Please contact us at 504-522-0187 or by email at gm@maisonstcharles.com to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Mississippi, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We purchased this weekend getaway from Living Social, the initial booking of the room was a nightmare. So we were apprehensive when we arrived. We were greeted by a very sweet young lady named Toshia who could not have made our stay any better. She was very in tune to our needs and made suggestions for places to eat and tour. The room was very nice and spacious the continental breakfast was great. We enjoyed the restaurant/bar there at the hotel, the food was excellent. Thanks for making our getaway a special time for us and thanks again to Toshia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about your room and breakfast! Toshia is so great, thank you for mentioning her! We are so delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope to accommodate you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Address: 1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.