We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- gorgeous home- great host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanaux Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanaux Mansion
Save
You added Lanaux Mansion to your Saves list
547 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location- gorgeous home- great host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

Just far enough away to be peaceful, but merely a block or two away from Frenchman and Bourbon streets, te French market and a short bike ride from the French Quarter and all the great downtown parks. The rooms are gorgeous and Ruth was a great host!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke,Ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife spent 3 days here prior to a cruise on Feb. 7th. Ruth is one of the most charming women we've ever met. We stayed in the cottage which was very comfortable. Private access to and from the property was helpful when strolling to the French Market or Bourbon St. both about 2 blocks in opposite directions. Everything in the French Quarter was accessible by walking. A dinner at Irene's is a must. Ruth's been there every night for 20 years.( at her own table) Mention her name to the fellow at the door and "bing" your a VIP...well you'll feel like it anyway, and the food? WOW!
The Mansion is just a delightful place, classy,comfortable,clean and well worth the $$. We'll never even think about staying anywhere else on future visits.

Room Tip: The cottage had it all, kitchen, private bath comfortable bed. Not huge,but very enchanted indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we found this B&B on a competing website. We had hoped to stay here the entire length of our vacation but since we booked on short notice, we were only able to stay here two nights. We spent the first night at the Waldorf Astoria on the other side of the French Quarter. The Lanaux's location was perfect because everywhere within the French Quarter was within walking distance but it was relatively quiet at night. Upon arrival, Ruth greeted us very cordially and gave us some advice for places to eat and see. She recommended we eat at a particular restaurant in the French Quarter because she said she "eats there every night". She also gave us the name of the Maitre'D there and told us to let him know she sent us. After a nice day walking around the French Quarter we strolled into the restaurant at 6pm and asked for Maitre'D. We should have made a reservation because it was already pretty busy even for a Tuesday night. We told him we needed to be down the street at 7:30pm for a walking tour and he said he we would take care of us. We had a seat in the bar and listened to a very good piano jazz piano player. When Mike, the Maitre'D, called us over to go to our table, much to our surprise, we were taken to Ruth's table as she was just leaving. She wasn't exaggerating. There is a plaque over her table saying it is hers until 6pm everyday. The food was fabulous and the wait staff helped us make it out of there on time without feeling rushed.
As I state in the title, we stayed in the Enchanted Cottage as this was a romantic getaway. The cottage itself is situated in a very well-kept garden with a private entrance that did not require us going through the main home. It has a private bathroom with shower and a nice little kitchenette with fridge and microwave. Rather than being served a formal breakfast in the dining room, Ruth stocked the kitchenette with fresh milk, orange juice, coffee, local fruits, cereal, and some amazing pastries. The bed was very comfortable and the heater kept things nice and toasty on a chilly winter night. What blew my mind was the details. Ruth stocked the cottage with everything you could imagine as far as supplies (toiletries, etc.). You can tell she is very detail oriented and puts a lot of pride into making the guests' experiences at the Lanaux Mansion as pleasant as can be.
I can say without question that staying with Ruth will be a priority for our next vacation to New Orleans. We could not have asked for a nicer time.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Enchanted Cottage and would recommend that to anyone there on a private, roman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. We live close by and visit the city often, and I would have to say that the location is perfect. It's far enough from the noise you get in other areas of the quarter, but close enough to walk anywhere. The Lanaux suite was beautiful and spacious. The owner Ruth gave us a tour of the house, and she has done an amazing job of restoring it to the original owner's vision. The parking is off site, but close enough to still be convenient--it's next to impossible to get a spot next to your hotel anywhere in the quarter. I would most certainly recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in New Orleans, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Staying at Lanaux Mansion was like stepping into a little space of serenity and beauty and hospitality. After a day on the town in New Orleans, my friends and I would return and feel an ease come over us. The rooms are beautifully decorated and just unique, the courtyard was lovely to sit in and hear New Orleans all around. The place was exquisitely clean and I slept wonderfully. Miss Ruth, the owner, is delightful and the source of great information on restaurants (we loved "Irene's") and musical venues. The delicious fresh baked goods and Ice-cold milk and OJ provided every day suited me fine. I liked being able to make my own coffee in my room and drink it while still in my PJs. If you are looking for someplace generic, don't bother. But if you enjoy whimsical, unexpected, gracious accomodations, this is the place. I loved it and hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I can not say enough amazing things about this place. The mansion was conveniently close to everything in the French Quarter. You could walk to any of the major streets, restaurants and sights. My husband and I stayed in the "enchanted cottage" for 3 nights. The room was quaint, quiet, clean and very private. Our favorite thing to do every morning was to have a cup of coffee and a muffin in our private courtyard which was right out the front door! It felt like a secret garden with it's tall vine lined fence, potted plants and fish pond. Ruth the owner was a fantastic host! She was so knowledgeable with the area and gave fantastic recommendations on the best restaurants as well as the must see sights of the city. We give this place 5 stars and can not urge you enough to stay there! We will definitely be back to the Lanaux Mansion! Thanks for an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms include a kitchenette, a sitting area and a bed. They are all decorated in differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in the Weiland Room (second time) and thought it was as good this time as last time. The bed was very comfortable and we slept just great after walking miles every day seeing this lovely city. Ruth, the owner is delightful and very helpful. She recommended restaurants and even made reservations for us at Irene's. This home is centrally located at the edge of the French Quarter and close to the trolley system. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the city yet within easy walks to the Quarter and all the wonderful restaurants. Ruth's garden is delightful and I loved coming back in late afternoon and having a cup of tea and relaxing in the garden. Our room had everything we needed and was very charming.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanaux Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanaux Mansion

Address: 547 Esplanade Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanaux Mansion is a beautiful 1879 Victorian Mansion in the New Orleans French Quarter area. Enjoy its unique historic charm and undisturbed privacy in the old world atmosphere of your room or suite. A colorful Victorian Garden is just outside your room. Across the street, the French Quarter holds endless entertainment. Around the corner on Frenchmen Street, musicians perform at Snug Harbor Jazz Club. More great music venues and world-class cuisine are a stroll away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanaux Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanaux Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.