We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and so so service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added W New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
W New Orleans - French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #51 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and so so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter, so the location couldn't be better. We arrived by car and did valet parking and the valet guys were very nice and efficient.

We went to the lobby to check in (which was empty at 8pm) and said we had a reservation. The front desk lady confirmed it and told us to wait, stating she would be right back. We stood alone for 15m in the lobby until she came back and offered no explanation for the waiting time. When you're paying $450 a night the least the hotel management could do is to train their front desk better and offer a better welcome to their guests.

The room was nice, a little bit dusty, a weird configuration but overall good. Our windows gave to inner courtyard so we didn't hear any noise from the crowds on the French Quarter. We were tired so ended up going to the hotel restaurant which is kind of a new restaurant in town. The food and service were good.

Overall, nothing can beat this location if you're looking to stay around the French Quarter and Nola attractions. Even though it's in a busy and noisy part of town we couldn't hear any noise in our room. The valet service was great and always cordial and apart from the check-in incident we had no further problems with the front desk and actually liked the hotel.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away with windows away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello spdmatos,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the Crescent City. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you return! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and comments on TripAdvisor. We love hearing from our guests and are always looking for areas in which we can improve. Hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    96
    33
    24
    12
See reviews for
33
127
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My Family stay was FANTASTIC! We travel all over the World and this Staff stands out! Shawn is the greatest! The Manager is very hands on and the professional courtesy just spread throughout! Mark the Lot Attendant was super helpful! Again, ask for Shawn at the front Desk and your Trip is guaranteed a great start! The Larry's had a blast at The W!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello Wadelarry,
I'm so happy to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us at W French Quarter! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! I will pass along your praises to our staff! We can't wait to see you again upon your return to New Orleans and W French Quarter!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has a foundation just not sure on management. Very inconsistent. Lovely outside courtyard and great location. Rooms need major deep cleaning, housekeeping just doing "spot" cleaning. Very very dusty behind doors and shutter blinds. Bathrooms not very clean. Due to being in French Quarter, has high volume I'm sure. Our arrival at 4:15 was met with room not ready? So apparently either understaffed or letting people check out late and room not getting a good cleaning. We had two day stay and on Saturday we came back to our room around 3:30, hadn't been cleaned yet. Housekeeping came about 4 and asked if we wanted service, I said bathroom and fresh towels. She handed me two towels; my first reaction was why didn't she just put in bathroom when she cleaned? Well, she didn't clean. She just took old towels, gave me two and left. She didn't leave a clean foot towel for the shower. If you saw the shower layout you'd know why this was extremely important to have. Also the walls and doors might as well not exist. You can hear any and everything as if folks in the hall are in your room. Zero sound proofing, and in NOLA after people stay out drinking, real hard to deal with at 2 or 3 am. All the employees were pleasant and nothing really was bad about the hotel other than the condition of the room which at $400 a night average is important.

Room Tip: Not sure one can, even those overlooking courtyard have thin walls and doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello rebfamily,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at W French Quarter. We take all of your comments and concerns seriously, as your experience with us is very highly valued. Thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention, particularly the housekeeping concerns. I will relay these messages to my team and see that improvements are made. We hope you will return and stay with us again to allow us the chance to show you a better experience!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was in a perfect location and all of the staff were very competent, friendly and helpful. Additionally, I want to praise one of the hotel groundskeepers, Alvin Franklin, who took special care making sure that the elevators, the poolside, and all places in between were immaculate. He's the kind of employee that gives the hotel guests the experience of friendliness and peace of mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello MarciaSantaMonica,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent stay in New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass along your praises to our staff members, particularly Alvin. We can't wait to welcome you back upon your return! Looking forward to seeing you again soon at W French Quarter!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For four recent nights in Nola, we wanted to stay in the Quarter but wanted modern amenities as well. Turns out this is quite a typical W property: tries a bit too hard, and charges like a five star, but doesn't always deliver.

The pluses:

great location gets you to all the sights in the Quarter, the Marigny, the CBD and Warehouse district on foot. Garden District and Uptown are conveniently reached by streetcar or cab.

Charming inner courtyard with lounge chairs, a fountain, a small pool are inviting from morning to night, a calm oasis away from the bustling streets.

Friendly staff everywhere, at checkin, in the restaurant, the concierge and the valet attendants.

Good fourth night free room rate, free breakfast offer from Amex, and a nice cheese and wine welcome from the manager.

Minuses:

Small, darkish room with tiny bathroom

Sloooow wifi

Our room also happened to be near the gym. Waking up at 6:00am on my vacation because some knucklehead is dropping his dumbbells on the floor: not so cool.

Puzzling breakfast menu that gets even stranger for Sunday brunch. Basically there is nothing that is not covered in sugar, chocolate, bacon or eggs, sometimes all four. How about some plain fruit, granola, a bagel?

$44 per day valet charge!

Real minus:

A room service tray is deposited next to our room some time on Saturday. Sunday morning, the tray is still there. We go explore the city. By nighttime, the same tray is STILL sitting there. So we call to complain before going to dinner. Back late that evening. Tray has not moved. Only after a second call is the offending tray finally taken away.

We also found a smallish roach in our room. On its own I wouldn't think too much of it. Could happen to the best of us. But with food trays sitting around for literally days, that little roach was probably not alone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello trippy036,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay via TripAdvisor. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will address these matters with my team and see that the necessary improvements are made right away. Thank you again for your comments.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quentin was extremely personable and a pleasure to deal with. All of his recommendations from restaurants to Second Line were excellent. He was always eager to help us out.

The hotel is in an excellent location in the French Quarter, just far enough away from the Bourbon St mayhem, but still in the center of things.

The restaurant was excellent! Try the oyster tacos and sweet potato beignets.

I would stay here again.

KP

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Pritchetthead,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the Big Easy! I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your praises of Quentin; I will pass along your kind comments to him. We look forward to having you return and stay with us again.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location could not have been better. Property and staff full of personality. Enjoyed the complimentary hurricanes at check-in. Room was average size for a W but the balcony was a huge bonus! Elijah (concierge) and Lorenz (manager) went out of their way to make sure our trip was "W"onderful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello 562BeckyS,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the Big Easy! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I will make sure to tell Lorenz and Elijah of your praises! We look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter upon your return to New Orleans soon!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel
w New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans
Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Amex, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.