We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms, but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
W New Orleans - French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #79 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms, but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This W has a great French Quarter location. Rooms are on the large side and well appointed. Great bar and bar staff. Be Aware: they start blaring music in the courtyard at 645 am every morning. This, along with staff cleaning the area while yelling out to each other makes it nearly impossible to sleep in after a typical fun night in NO, especially if you have a courtyard facing room. These rooms are great, with balconies and patio's, but you will literally be "facing the music" every morning. The music appears to be for the enjoyment of the staff, as there is no one at the pool or in the courtyard until several hours later.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Marystanforddc,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate it and I will pass along your comments to the rest of our staff. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the city. We hope to see you again upon your return to New Orleans.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    132
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
45
170
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to blag 200 characters here but I just only need to mention "awesome". Great service, fantastic location, recognition of your membership status, a little pricey for relative small rooms but you take that. Did not manage to try the restaurant but will sure be doing that next time. The courtyard with heated pool is very nice to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Nicke07,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm so happy you had an awesome stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor and giving us such high praises. We love hearing from our guests and I'm happy to hear when we leave a lasting positive impression. We look forward to seeing you again upon your return to W French Quarter!
Best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was my honey’s birthday and I wanted to do something fun for him. So we took a trip to the Big Easy. There are a ton of places to stay in New Orleans but there’s nowhere like the French Quarter. Just add the style of the W + Southern Hospitality + An Awesome Staff = A Fantastic Stay. The other reviews on Trip Advisor that I read were very mixed and many commenting on the thin walls and the noise from the pool area. I cant say we had the same experience. The hotel was sold out so I was expecting to hear a lot of noise but I didn’t really hear anything. We had a room with a balcony so we were facing the pool but again the noise was kept to a minimum. When we checked-in there was a bottle of champagne and pastries with a card saying happy birthday to my honey. We also had a chance to indulge in the Acura Experience which was really nice and saved on cab fare. Daniel drove us to a few places in the Acura and he was great. He was a safe driver and made some great recommendations on where to eat and sports bars to go to (my honey had to see the Texas & Alabama game). Daniel recommended and made reservations for us at The Pelican Club and I’m so glad he did. The food was great. The best cooked oysters I’ve ever had. The best part of our stay was the Good Samaritan who returned my wallet to the front desk. Sunday morning when we got our wake-up call I was informed that my wallet had been found by the pool and was returned by one of the guest. Undoubtedly you can find a cheaper place to stay in the French Quarter or anywhere in New Orleans for that matter but I cant say what time of service you will receive. The W French Quarter has lived up to the level of service I have come to expect from the W. Thank you for making our stay wonderful and my honey’s birthday memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello SDot313,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear of your great experience with us. We love going above and beyond for all of our guests and I love hearing when we've left a lasting, positive impression. I will pass along your kind comments to Daniel and the rest of our staff. They will be so appreciative of your high praises. It sounds like you both had a great time in the Big Easy! We look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter upon your return to New Orleans!!
Best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed overnight at the W French Quarter as part of a group of 8 people. Hotel is very well located, only about a 5-10 minute walk to Bourbon Street. The outside of the hotel is misleading. It looks like a very small hotel from the street but once you're inside, you discover it's much larger. Check-in process went well with enthusiastic staff. Concierge was also very helpful. Lobby also had the usual W comforts such as lemon water and free wi-fi available. Room was well appointed and very clean. Decor was typical W 'funkyness'. The very dark color scheme in the hallways made it feel a bit clausterphobic. Bathroom rather dark but very good back lighting from the mirror, shower pressure excellent. Bed was very comfortable, no issues with noise from neighbours or hallway.

Suggest first time travellers to New Orleans do their research on Bourbon Street before heading out after dark. Had expected more jazz bars and cafes instead of grunge bars and strip clubs. Some interesting characters after hours so be mindful of your surroundings. During the day, head down to other parts of the French Quarter near the harbor - good experience and lots to see and do.

Overall would recommend the W - great experience and consistent product.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello YYZtotheworld,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your review of our property. I'm glad to hear your stay was enjoyable and you liked the property and our staff. I hope you were able to find some great places around the French Quarter. You're right - there's so much to see and do! We hope to see you again upon your return to New Orleans!
Best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

great little property in a great location! thanks to the entire staff for a wonderful stay! checkin and front drive staff was fun and professional! Avery,Abigail,Jane and everyone at SoBou thanks for all the great service along with yummy nibbles and sips! Couldn't have been taken care of more! Beautiful room and property

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello tiva-austin,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for your praise for our staff - we truly appreciate it! I will pass along all of your kind comments to our staff. They will be so glad to hear from you! We look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter upon your return to New Orleans. See you soon!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this W using points and I was there with my family. Families are not the target customer I am sure. If you are a 20 something attempting to impress yourself or others this is the place to stay. There was probably as much alcohol being consumed per capita as on the average "booze cruise". The overarching design focuses on style over function. The clean lines and minimalistic style reminded me of a 1960's Sci-Fi movie attempting to show what life would be like in the future. They tried too hard to be cutting edge and left any hint of utilitarian practicality in the dust. Skip it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whotelsnola, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Donald N -

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our property. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the redesign of our hotel and that it didn't suit your needs. We appreciate your comments and hope that, overall, you had a great time in New Orleans and will come back to the city to visit again soon.

If there's anything that we can do for you, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter and the staff is exceedingly friendly...however, the walls are VERY thin. Our next door neighbors decided to have a fight at 4am over beignets and we could hear every word. Every time someone walked by our door, we could hear it. If you can ignore the sound problem, the hotel is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook Chartres St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello TexasLex,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the Quarter. I apologize for the noise during your stay. I hope it didn't interrupt your stay too much. I hope you and your friends enjoyed the rest of your time here and will return very soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#80 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.