We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
W New Orleans - French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #81 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,843 reviews 2,843 reviews
236 hotel reviews
Reviews in 365 cities Reviews in 365 cities
1,344 helpful votes 1,344 helpful votes
“Top hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Love it here, stylish and well designed. Great location -close to most attractions but not too close to the noise of Bourbon Street.
In the heat of the moment, the room was cool , the pool was essential (even though it is too hot).
The rooms are spacious and stylish.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello RonWamberal,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the pool and courtyard during your stay. I hope you were able to explore around the Quarter some and find some great places to dine! We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    147
    73
    38
    23
See reviews for
53
197
19
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked our hotel through American Express Fine Hotels and from the moment we checked in we were treated like royalty. There were not any upgrades available for our first 2 nights, but our last 2 nights we were moved to a Jr Suite that was fabulous. Jermaine was soooo helpful, and really went above and beyond to make our stay as amazing as it possibly could be. We will definitely book again!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are so relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello angela s,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We love going above and beyond for all of our guests and love hearing when we've made a lasting positive impression. I will pass along your kind comments to Jermaine. He will be so pleased. Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again upon your return to the Big Easy!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location in the French Quarter, easy walking distance to everything. Don't bring a car unless you want to pay French Quarter prices for parking ($40 per day) Friendly staff, pretty courtyard/pool area. Entire staff was very friendly and attentive. The rooms are ultra modern, small, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Ray B,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the Big Easy! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We love providing our with a unique experience and quality service. I'm so happy to hear that does not go unnoticed. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the courtyard and relax by the pool during your stay. I hope to see you again upon your return to New Orleans!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The ambiance at the W hotel in the French Quarter is really nice however, the lady (Lindsey) at the concierge desk wasn't one of the warmest or friendliest people to deal with. It seemed that she had an irritation of the questions that I was asking her. However, she was quite accomodating to the guests she helped before me..The gym on site was nice, clean and had a variety of machines. The courtyard was beautiful and relaxing. A few people that provided excellence service during our stay were Daniel who provided car service, his professionalism and cheerful attitude made us feel welcomed, Lan the bellman went over and beyond and always had a great attitude. Jonathan was cool too! So if you decided to stay at the W in the French Quarter just know that these gentlemen will definitely take care of you!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello S W,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the gym and courtyard. Thank you for your kind comments and feedback about our staff. I will pass along your comments to each of them individually. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the city during your business trip. We hope to see you again upon your return to the Big Easy!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a good location that is not on Bourbon Street the W works well. We had a few basic rooms which were nice but nothing standout. We also had a suite with a hot tub in the back. The hot tub is very small and can fit 3-4 people. The front door did not close or lock well.

For a W hotel, the premise was much smaller than expected with limited options. I wasn't that impressed and its worth looking around at other options if you aren't a usual starwood traveller. It works if you want to stay at a starwood hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Joshua F,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time around the city. We hope to see you again upon your next visit to the Big Easy.
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This W Hotel is likely has one of the BEST outdoor Lounge area's that I personally have ever experienced. The daybeds are to die for and the cabanas are a must. The rooms facing the pool are the most "single friendly" rooms at the hotel, Worth the price too. As most W Hotels, the personal car service is perfect for those times where you may need to be driven (smile) but, make sure you meet the concierge upon your arrival and make certain he knows your name ($) for later when you call down for help. These folks in the hotel are priceless by-the-way. So please stay at this hotel and I assure you that it will be the best.

Room Tip: If you are Single, the poolside rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello tony t,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to spend some time relaxing in the courtyard. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff. I will pass along your praises to them. Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We look forward to having you back at W French Quarter upon your next visit to the Big Easy!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The lobby has been remodeled since our visit adding a bar & a restaurant. This hotel has extremely friendly & helpful staff. The lobby bar was hopping at 3 pm. Lots of activity. The pool & patio area is very nice (weather permitting). Funky decor but very nice. Our room was a junior suite and was larger than our standard room last year. Location! Location! Location! It doesn't get any better! Two blocks off of Bourbon so you are in the heart of the French Quarter without the raucous atmosphere at 2:00 am. It's still close enough to stagger home! This may be the best hotel in the Quarter!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello rhpatt29,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your trip to the city and your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We appreciate and value your kind comments about our staff and property. I hope you were able to find some great places to visit nearby; we truly are in the heart of the French Quarter! We hope to see you again upon your return to the Big Easy!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.