We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Save Saved
You added W New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New Orleans - French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #54 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Boutique style typical of W Hotels that I love. Stayed 4 nights in room on second floor with balcony opening up to the courtyard. It was quiet, decent sized room. My parents stayed in room next door. The ice maker was on the outside of their wall and it made noise day and night. Upon check in the staff was wonderful, gave us a map and oriented us to city. There is a driver available that will drive you anywhere within two miles, very nice service. We were able to walk to everything in French Quarter. We booked a mini bus tour of city through hotel. Bus picked us up right in front and we enjoyed the tour very much.
We ate dinner, breakfast and sat at the bar in Sobu, service was great, staff friendly and the food was very good. Oyster tacos were delicious, atmosphere was fun. With all the amazing Restraunts in the city, competition is stiff, wasn't our top choice but convenient and interesting dishes.
We had drinks in the courtyard at night and it was magical. The pool also looked inviting.
Before arriving I was emailed asking if they could be of any service setting up activities (this is typical of all W's and one of the reasons I stay in them). I asked for recommendations on local activities, some active and some not so much for parents. I also asked for appointment in spa. I received a reply there is no spa at hotel. I then requested a spa within walking distance for pedicure and massage. I never got another response. Also a few other service related issues that were not up to par of the other W hotels. For example no hot water our first morning that was promtly fixed. Before leaving I contacted the manager and let her know our frustrations. She apologized profusely and gave me equivalent of two night stay in Starwood points. I felt listened to and was happy. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Beware of room on second floor, (handicapped accessible). Has ice maker on outside of wall and make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello HLLO -

Thank you for taking the time to share great feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that overall, it sounds like you had a really nice time in New Orleans and you enjoyed our hotel. I'm glad that you tried out SoBou and enjoyed cocktails in our courtyard. I'm sorry for the small mishaps that you experienced with the rooms, but it sounds like we were able to address the issues in a timely manner as to not affect your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Orleans. Let us know if there's anything that we can do for you in the meantime.

Best regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    110
    43
    24
    14
See reviews for
36
145
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated just a short walk from Bourbon Street.That turned out to be great, the area around Bourbon Street also has a lot to offer. This was our first visit to New Orleans and as ever we relied on the hotel concierge for help. The wonderful concierge here was an absolute gem. Nothing seemed too much trouble and her advice was invaluable. in fact the whole team at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quirky and great fun and the hotel restaurant is good. This is the place to stay in NOLA.

Room Tip: Its worth asking for a room at the back of the hotel, they will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello goldwingbaz -

Thank you for choosing W French Quarter and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Staci, our W Insider, is a great asset to our team and knows all the hot spots in the city. I'm glad to hear that she was so helpful and that you enjoyed her recommendations as well as our property. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip to New Orleans so we can show you another great experience!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Really great boutique feel hotel right in the middle of the French Quarter. Good sized rooms and really cool outside courtyard. The staff were great too. Stayed 4 nights and would definitely come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello nikkimax -

I appreciate hearing the great feedback about your recent stay with us. We love hearing when our guests have such nice things to say about our property and our talent. Thank you for recommending our property to your friends for their New Orleans excursions. We look forward to your return!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My best friend and I had the most fabulous time staying at the W French Quarter NOLA in mid January 2013. Our ambassador, Lan tha Man was terrific! He was always pointing us in the direction of sweet spots to grab a bite or just chill and have a drink. If you run into to Lan the Man I'm sure you'll have just as great as time as we did!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello R0Zilla -

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent experience with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our property and that our talent made such a great impression on you. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff here was great at check-in and helped us get our bearings in the French Quarter. We stayed in one of the "carriage house" rooms at the back of the courtyard. I highly recommend any of these four rooms...spacious, historic feel, two balconies with french doors, high ceilings - it was great. You may hear your neighbors a bit in one of these rooms if you are sensitive to sound. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Edward H -

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay with us! I have to agree that our carriage house suites are some of the best on the property and offer a more exclusive escape. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The atmosphere in this hotel is unique. Even it is in the middle of French quarter it is very Quite.
Very spacious room, Just 3 minutes walk to Bourbon street which can be a bit crazy, especialy on a friday night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello perp1 -

Thank you for writing such a great review of W French Quarter! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you on your next trip to New Orleans!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow – Great job on the total remodel! This hotel was quite amazing. It’s in the French Quarter and I wanted to stay here since on my past few trips it was completely under construction. It didn’t disappoint and neither did the staff. I have checked into some impressive hotels only to have a bad experience because of the interactions with the staff. That’s not the case here. Everyone at the front desk was cheerful, friendly, and helpful. It only added to the excitement of being at this completely remodeled hotel. They now have a spa and there is a pool in the wonderful courtyard. The layout of this hotel is unique and that really adds to the upscale charm.

Upon check in I was upgraded to the studio suite which is just off the courtyard. The room was very cool and unique. However, I soon realized that with the hard wood floors and front and back balcony with French doors, there is no sound protection of any kind. Sitting on the bed I could clearly hear everyone in the courtyard, the music, and the people in the other units around me. I was sad to ask to change rooms but it was a must. As I mentioned the staff kept smiling and swiftly moved me to a room in the main building which was very quiet and enjoyable. The room in the main building had a view of the pool and courtyard and was very quiet.

The restaurant on property was great and I ate dinner there on my first evening. The food was very good and the bartender was entertaining and took pride in whipping up delicious drinks for those that wanted to “try something new.” I ate at the bar which was very nice but was a little disappointed in the slow service.

I’ll be back to New Orleans in March and I have already made my reservation to stay at this hotel again!

I've included pictures of both room types I was in.

Room Tip: Studio Suites are very cool but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello TravelinLeather -

I'm so glad that you were finally able to stay with us on your last trip to New Orleans and that our staff made such a positive lasting impression on you! We appreciate your feedback about the guest rooms and look forward to welcoming you back in March. Let us know if there's anything we can do for you in the meantime by contacting us at wfqcservice@whotels.com. We're here 24/7. No matter what.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.