We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W New Orleans - French Quarter to your Saves list
W New Orleans - French Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #84 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
1 review
“great hotel+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location of the hotel is great. My (Fabulous) room was small, but opened up to a charming street and was quiet and comfortable in the evenings. The staff and adjoining restaurant, SoBou, more than made up for the small room. Ariel at the front desk was always pleasant and very helpful. The food at SoBou amazing- Abigail, the bartender is truly fabulous. She makes an amazing sherry cocktail, I'm sure to try again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello alanyc_12 -

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I'll pass along the compliments to Ariel and Abigail and we look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter and SoBou on your next trip to New Orleans. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We'll make sure to have that sherry cocktail ready for you!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    151
    78
    40
    25
See reviews for
57
205
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel with my partner. We have stayed in tons of W's and loved them over the years but lately we have had issues. They try too hard to be hip at the expense of functionality. Examples at this hotel: Cool, not fully opaque glass door/wall separates guest room from bathroom. Great if you are staying there alone, but not so great if you are with someone else (we have experienced similar issues at the W Chicago (loop) and the W in London). Who wants to look at someone's clear silhouette on the toilet, or be visible like that when using it or other parts of the bathroom? Also the way the toilet paper holder was designed, trying to get paper off it caused the roll of toilet paper to fall on the floor every time!

Also, there's this strange convex mirror that covers the TV that you have to slide out of the way to watch the TV. When you do that, however, it takes up a large percentage of the desk space! Plus, who wants to sit at a desk with this huge convex mirror in front of you? It also makes you move the lamp and phone to make room for it, which creates other issues. You would have thought these issues would have been apparent to whoever designed the rooms. Also, the tracks that the mirror runs across are an eyesore when it's pushed away from the TV.

All of that said, the location is great. It was pretty quiet given it's two blocks from Bourbon St. We had no service issues; the staff was friendly and helpful. It was comfortable. I'd probably stay here again if I was alone, but not if I was traveling with someone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WFrenchQuarter, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello dblackdc -

Thank you for staying at W French Quarter and for taking the time to post feedback about your experience. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the new room design, but am glad that you received great service and enjoyed the location. Next time, you should try out one of our Studio Suites as the bathroom design is a little different and might be a better fit. I hope to welcome you back in the future as we appreciate your business. Let us know if we can do anything for you in the meantime at wfqcservice@whotels.com. We're here 24/7.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a great hotel. A couple blocks over from Bourbon Street & it is QUIET!. A great hotel in a great location. My room was clean, extremely quiet & very modern. The styling is unique. I loved the hotel bar - taps on the tables!! Breakfast in the hotel is also a nice experience, food was delicious and very well prepared. This is where I will look first on my future visits to New Orleans. The fitness center was well equipped with Technogym products.

Room Tip: My room faced the street & it was quiet, but if you can - get a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Bob C -

Thank you for posting such a great review of W French Quarter! We appreciate your feedback as it's nice to hear what our guests think about our redesign as well as our service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans. Let us know when you're coming at wfqcservice@whotels.com and we'll have a courtyard room ready for you!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything was great, the staff might be the best i´ve seen, Daniel had great suggestions for everything, very kind and great service; the only detail is that walls are way too thin, you could actually listen to the tv of the room next door. One morning there was drilling & hammering t freakin 8am? woooow! amazing location, no free in-room wifi though, i mean for the price you pay wifi should be on the house....

Room Tip: Get 3 rooms and stay in the one in the middle so you dont listen everything....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The rooms are trying way too hard to be hip, but I had been upgraded to one of the 5th floor rooms and it was very quiet (could not hear any revelers on Halloween.)

Lots of small annoyances from forgetting to send up towels and pillows to the bell staff paying more attention to the ladies on the street than the customers.

I would say the manager needs to tighten ship a bit to make the hotel service match the high cost of the rooms. Additionally, what 5 start hotel does not have a concierge...

I do need to give a great shout out to Abigail Gullo and Chris at the SoBou bar, they really kept the bar hopping.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello James H -

I appreciate the feedback you provided about your recent stay with us. I apologize for the lapse in service you encountered as I assure you our guests are our top priority. It sounds like you didn't get a chance to meet Staci, our Insider. She's our version of a concierge and has great recommendations for places to go in the city. I'm really glad that you did get to spend time with Abigail and Chris in SoBou as they are an entertaining duo! I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to show you the level of customized service that we can provide.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is great! Although I have never had a bad experience at a W, this particular one was extra special. It is smaller than most Ws and seemed more like a boutique hotel. As always the staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating. The location is great... just a few blocks from Bourbon and St. Louis cathedral. It just out of the way enough to be close but not right in the middle of all the craziness that is the french quarter. The rooms are really nice, but a little small. There was a really cool huge convex mirror that slid sideways to reveal the flatscreen.

I will definitely be staying here when I go back to New Orleans!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Brian A -

It was a pleasure reading your comments about your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to New Orleans!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed w/e before Halloween, this was a great location in the quarter 2 blocks off Bourbon on Chartres. Had a "Spectacular" King room. A little on the small side considering it was an upgrade, but very modern and clean. Very comfortable bed. Had everything you need to relax before, during, after sightseeing , partying, whatever.
Boutique style hotel with a nice bar, good looking restaurant(did not eat here as there are so many options in NOLA, but may try it next time). Staff could not be nicer, concierge had solid suggestions for tours, dining and general knowledge.
I second any good reviews on here and would not hesitate to stay here again when back(although The Monteleone will always be my first choice).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello jefk56 -

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's always great to read about guests' positive experiences at our property. You picked a great weekend to come in town as there were lots of things going on! You should definitely check out SoBou on your next trip. It was just named one of the best new restaurants in America by Esquire magazine. I hope that we can welcome you back the next time you're in town!

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New Orleans - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.