We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel wasn't amazing, but not terrible either. One of our biggest issues was the cooling of the rooms. Our first room didn't hardly seem to cool at all. They switched us, and it was a little better, but not much. At night it got very stuffy, and there really isn't much you can do about it. Also, the quieter rooms seem to be the hottest, and the rooms next to the noisy street are cooler. The noise didn't bother us too much, but if you are a light sleeper it might. Also, we didn't get our room cleaned because house keeping didn't come until around 4pm, and by then we were already back into our room from a busy day. We came in around 2pm to lay down for a rest, and didn't rest very well because housekeeping was cleaning the hallway for 2 hours working their way up to our room, and it was very noisy. Doors shutting constantly, sounds of the carts moving, etc. Finally we were getting ready for the evening by the time they made it to our room, and had to tell them no thank you. The staff was friendly, and it was a plus to have complimentary breakfast. Also, the hotel seems new and very clean, so for that we were grateful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. We are sorry that we weren't able to meet your expectations with the cooling of your room and receiving housekeeping service. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary deluxe breakfast and the new and clean atmosphere of our hotel. We hope that this little incident doesn't keep you from giving Hotel le marais another chance to exceed your expectations. We deeply appreciate your comments and we assure you that next time you return, your stay will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    446
    88
    16
    19
See reviews for
201
822
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A wonderful stay. The location is great for seeing everything in the French Quarter. The rooms were clean and fresh. They are a bit small and the bathroom could use a bit more counter space but it was clean, fresh and in good condition. We had a large group with 3 rooms and the staff was very pleasant and attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed only one evening and were very pleased with hotel location, room and hospitality. It is in close proximity to restaurants, night life, and tourist locations while still feeling distanced from Bourbon Street proper!

Our stay included complimentary breakfast. The breakfast area included both inside and a quiet outside courtyard area which was enjoyable. We also received complimentary drink tickets upon arrival and enjoyed a very tasty Sazerac. A small but sufficient workout room was available for use.

The hotel offers a fair amount of rooms while still maintaining a boutique feel. We enjoyed the hotel room which was updated, cozy, quiet, and clean. The beds were comfortable and pillows were large and fluffy and great for general relaxing; however, oversized and awkward for sleeping. The accommodations were pleasant and the staff was friendly and follow up call post stay appreciated. Would definitely recommend and return for future visits if looking for a hotel experience. Rating is 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay here. Our room was on the first floor in a group of about 4 or five other rooms. Some reviewers mention that their rooms were small but our room was spacious - the bathroom was large. WIFI didn't work well in this part of the hotel however. The rooms and the hotel have a modern decor. The AC worked great. It was also quite. On occasion I could hear the doors close on other nearby rooms but never heard any other noise from inside or outside the hotel. The staff were also excellent. We received some sort of deal that included valet parking with the room and ended up with a very reasonable rate.

The hotel's location is great. It is situated on Conti between Bourbon and Royal. It is a five minute walk to Jackson Square. I won't look for another place to stay should I return to NOLA.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quite and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

In the interest of full disclosure, we haven't actually completed our stay here yet. I have time to write this review while I sit in the lobby waiting for my room to be ready . . . an hour and a half after check in time. My wife and I didn't just show up a minute ago, mind you. We came 30 minutes after check in time and were told to "go wait at the bar or walk around for a bit". The bar was blaring 80's dance hits, so we opted for the latter and spent 35 minutes walking around Bourbon Street in 90 degree heat enjoying the smell. Came back to the hotel 45 minutes later and still no room. Have been waiting an additional 20 minutes. Still no room. We are about to just leave and go to another hotel. Don't stay here. Not that you can, they won't give you a room. Terrible.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Mere feet away from the craziness of a Bourbon Street, La Marais felt like it could have on the other side of town.

Perfect location to explore the French Quarter, and all New Orleans has to offer. We arrived Friday, and did even look at our car until we headed home the following Tuesday.

Modern, but comfy and well appointed hotel. A warm welcome awaits the guests, at the front desk and the bar. The courtyard/pool area is a tranquil oasis, and a great place to start the day, over a generous continental style breakfast, or start the evening with a delicious cocktail.

Well appointed rooms and amenities. We had a room overlooking the courtyard. Bathroom was small, but functional, and the bed was large & comfy.

Plenty to do right on your doorstep, and most everything else within easy walking distance. More than happy to recommend La Marais, and will definitely stay again when we next visit New Orleans - a new addition to our top 10 favourite places.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We picked Marais based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. The location was superb, the hotel was classy, and the staff were warm and friendly. The room is a tad small, but only just. The bathroom was also with very little counterspace, and a weird half glass opening that resulted in a lot of water spraying over the floor. Which genius designed that? But overall, service and quality were abundant. We had a room overlooking the courtyard and couldn't hear a thing from Bourbon St., although the room walls were a little thin. We could hear the guests next door on either side of us. But all in all, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We are very thrilled that you were not disappointed with your selection. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room with a view of our lovely courtyard with heated salt-water pool. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding the service that you have experienced at Hotel le marais. We do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the near future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.