We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was my oasis in the French Quarter. When the noise, smell and crowds got to be too much, I could always escape to the quiet and serenity of Le Marais. Spotless guest room, lobby and breakfast area. Quiet, totally blocking out the French Quarter noise (although I could hear a couple making love in the guest next room). Comfortably bed. Small, but totally adequate room. I would absolutely return the next time I was in NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Wow! We truly appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel le marais. We are delighted that our hotel has served as an oasis for you when the French Quarter became overwhelming at times during your visit. We are proud of our high cleanliness standards and we are grateful for your appreciation. Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    406
    86
    13
    18
See reviews for
180
763
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nice, clean hotel. Close to Bourbon street, but also you are within walking distance to many other things. Frenchmen Street, the Square, good restaurants and much more. The staff was very helpful and kind. They have a good breakfast and a bar onsite. Nice choice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

It was my first time in Nola and I wanted to stay in the French Quarter. This hotel is in the perfect location, steps from Bourbon St without the noise and close to everything you would want to see. The staff was friendly and helpful and complimentary daily breakfast is key. I fell in love with the French Quarter and when I return I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are honored that you have chosen Hotel le marais as your property of choice during your first ever visit to New Orleans. We are definitely located in the heart of the French Quarter and a few steps from the jazz on world famous Bourbon St. and boutique shops on Royal St. We take pride in our enhanced world class guest service and we are truly appreciative of your compliment. We are looking forward to your next visit. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Bourbon street is really a few steps away. But step into the Hotel Le Marais and it is another world. The front desk staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast, which is included, remains the same from day to day but is plentiful and very adequate with scrambled eggs, freshly replaced, and abundant good sausage and bacon. There are also cereals, fruit, various muffins, fruit juices, coffee, etc. The room we had was quiet and we were able to walk everywhere as the hotel is so conveniently located. There is a lovely small courtyard with seating and a small pool.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid the rooms that face the street - there is noise in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Maybe I'm too picky, but I expected more for $450/night. My husband and I spent 3 nights here over this past weekend. We had a great time overall, and here is my assessment of the hotel:
Pros:
Pierre is awesome. I wish he had been there 24/7. The other staff was fine, very friendly, but the left hand didn't always know what the right hand was doing. The location can't be beat. You can easily walk to almost everything you want to see in NOLA. The breakfast was great, and fresh fruit, flavored water & coffee were available 24/7. The hotel has a modern, fun vibe and we found every public area to be very clean. Courtyard very nice to sit and have your free cocktail. I didn't find the noise to be a problem (but I never leave home without my earplugs!). I didn't find it to be any noisier than any other hotel. There was definitely far more noise on Saturday night both in the hotel (doors slamming, loud drunk people) and from Bourbon St.
Cons:
We paid a premium for a balcony with a courtyard view and were very disappointed to find no chairs to sit on! What is the point of the balcony? I was looking forward to enjoying my morning coffee and a book. Total waste of money...who wants to just stand on a balcony? The room was spotless when we arrived, however, it was not actually cleaned in the 3 nights we were there. The towels were changed (which you will need lots of because there is no door on the shower and the bathroom is soaked after a shower) and the bed was made. The toiletries weren't refreshed (guess what...a 1oz bottle of body wash will not clean 2 adults for 4 days), the tissue box wasn't refilled, the counters weren't wiped down. On day 3 at 4pm we returned and the room hadn't been touched at all. Are any of these things a big deal? No. But for the price, I shouldn't have to hunt down the housekeeper every day for something. We had a package which included vouchers for 2 tours. These were not presented to us upon arrival, and it took 3 trips back to the desk to actually get them. The staff at the time just really didn't know what to do.
Would I stay here again? Definitely yes, if I got a more reasonable price. Even subtracting the small cost of the tour vouchers, we still paid a bundle to stay here. I expected more attention to detail from the small, expensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First time in New Orleans and we could not have selected a better hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by a true professional Mr. Pierre. He rolled out the red carpet and we received the VIP treatment during our entire stay. He booked excursions for us and personally walked us to a nearby restaurant to ensure we received prompt service. Be sure to stop by the bar when Ms. Olga is tending bar and she makes some of the best cocktails we have ever had, and she was a delight to chat with. The rooms (and the property) were nicely appointed, clean and well maintained. The location was great if you are looking for the "Bourbon Street" experience you are literally a one minute walk away. You are only a ten minute walk from St. Louis Cathedral, and Cafe Du Monde. I highly recommend this property and it will be our new home away from home on future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We are very glad that Hotel le marais has made an impression on you during your first visit to the Big Easy. It is great to hear that Pierre was able to accommodate your requests during your visit and that Olga was able to mix up great refreshments for you. We are truly delighted that you were able to enjoy our well-appointed rooms. The location of Hotel le marais simply cannot be beat; we are a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that this great city has to offer. We are honored that you have chosen Hotel le marais as your home away from home. We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a short stay in New Orleans and wanted to be near the major tourist attractions hotel Le Marais was the perfect location. We were very pleased with our room and thought the hotel was great. The atmosphere at the hotel was very relaxing and the staff very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. There were hot drinks available all day which was a welcome surprise as unfortunately the weather was unseasonably cold during our stay, this also meant we were unable to take advantage of the swimming pool even though it was heated. We found all areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and we loved the decor. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.