We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay at Le Marais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
“First time stay at Le Marais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were very pleased with the stay over the past weekend! We loved the atmosphere, the friendly staff, the bar area, the breakfast, etc!! This hotel is within walking distance of everything! A few blocks from Jackson Sq a few hundred feet from Bourbon St you have it all right there! We will be staying here again on our next visit to NOLA! Thank you Le Marais!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    446
    88
    16
    19
See reviews for
201
822
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had a spur of the moment business trip and didn't have time to do a lot of research before booking the Hotel Le Marais. I was pleasantly surprised about every single aspect of this property but particularly the friendliness and outward desire of staff members to make my stay perfect. The extra touches of a free cocktail and delicious gingersnap cookies set the tone on my arrival and the great experience until I checked out the next day where my car was ready and waiting.

The public spaces and rooms were very chic and the rooms were spacious and spotless!
Easy access to shopping and dining which were an added bonus.

I will definitely stay at this property again as I found to be an excellent value and a delightful experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed Nov 24-26 at Hotel Le Maris. 1st time there, certainly won't be our last. I'm originally from N.O. so we go back often. What a fun place to stay, the staff is so friendly and helpful, great bar and courtyard. This is a small typical New Orleans hotel so if you want all the "extras" like room service etc don't go there. If you want a great location, great New Orleans experience, and genuine helpful service then this is the place for you. Rooms are nice, I'd recommend an inside room facing the courtyard, 3rd floor and up. You are less than a block from Bourbon st., 5 min. from Jackson Square and surrounded by great restaurants. The staff at the front desk and the bar go out of their way the be helpful and there is an air of cheerfulness about them that makes it fun for all. We will be back!

Room Tip: Inside room facing the Courtyard, 3rd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Wow! I am excited to read such a wonderful review and I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you so much for your kind comments on our friendly and helpful staff and our great bar and courtyard. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we can't wait to serve you again in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed Nov 21-24 and then Dec 1-3 at the Hotel Le Marais. The first time we stayed we had a balcony overlooking Conti street. It was fun to watch the people as they came off Bourbon and there was a wedding that took place next door and the bride and groom led a marching New Orleans style brass band past our hotel. It was loud, but we were festive and didn't mind the noise. The noise shut down at around 1 am that we noticed.
On the second half of our stay we asked for a balcony overlooking the pool. It was much quieter.

The pool was warm and peaceful. The breakfast was good. The gym was small but it had all the facilitates we needed. More than 4 people in the gym is too much.

The front desk staff were friendly and courteous. Lyndon was great on assisting any requests. If they didn't know an answer, the front desk staff was on the radio right away to get the information.

The rooms came with one bathrobe and on trips too the pool, the bathrobe was pretty tight on me.

The lobby was beautifully decorated and the rooms were clean.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends, and if we go back to New Orleans we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool view balcony rooms are quieter, but they miss the action from close-by bourbon street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

While the room is small, that is the worst thing we can say about Hotel Le Marais. The location is ideal for walking Bourbon Street and close to other attractions. We were incredibly pleased by the cleanliness of the room and can't say enough about the service we received. The recommendations by the front desk were exceptional. The breakfast was better than we thought it would be (I am always leery of free food). The bartenders were also pleasant and helpful. We were nothing short of pleased with the service at Hotel Le Marais.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We deeply appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with other travelers in TrIp Advisor. We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations related to cleanliness and our service. At hotel le marais we pride in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to hear that we have done it again, it makes us very happy. Thank you so much for staying with us and please comeback and see us soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

At $200+ per night with taxes and ect, I was expecting to sleep like a baby and have wonderful, relaxing stay. My first impression was that this is a very nice hotel, located in the heart of the French Quarter (on Conti near Royal, one block from Bourbon St). It is in an older building that was remodeled to look more hip, modern (with excessive use of colored lighting and velvet chairs). We stayed on the 3rd floor, when we opened the room door we both noted the strong smell of mildew in the room. No heat was on in any of the hallways, so in December this can get cold. There was a heated pool in the courtyard but it is awkwardly located near the Vive bar, which did not make me want to go in. No room service offered, no in-room beverages, no mini fridge, no spa, no snacks and no restaurant. I also noticed our bathroom was fairly dirty, the cleaning staff never cleaned the shower walls or the frosted glass between the shower and toilet which looked filthy. The valet parking for $34 per day was horrible and half the time the valet reserved space was being occupied by someone else, mostly deliveries or people temporarily stopping to pick someone up. I did not sleep well the whole time we stayed here, there was a weird, loud grinding noise most of the night and I kept having horrible, violent nightmares. I don't often have such bad nightmares and it made me question the idea of a haunting or ghost as I have heard the French Quarter has a history of.

I accidentally left a toiletry bag in the room, asked about it a hour later after we checked out and was told "we did not find anything in your room" but I am positive I left a small bag full of makeup in the room. Annoyed by this, nobody asked for my contact info incase they did find the bag, just the smug response.

I will be in NOLA in the near future but I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or room service offered here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Hotel le marais. I am very sorry to hear that we weren't able to meet your expectations and that you experienced some problems with your room and bathroom. I would definitely share these comments with my housekeeping staff to to correct this issue. Also, I am sorry to hear that we weren't able to find your item but we will keep looking for it and keep in contact with you in case is found. I would love to speak with you in further detail about your stay, if you can please contact me (504) 200-3154 or daffne.ruglas@interstatehotels.com. Looking forward to speaking with you.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Le Marais the week of Thanksgiving with my wife and our two kids (both under 10). The hotel was just what we had hoped for: in the Quarter, close to everything, yet, surprisingly quiet (note we asked for a quiet room) for being so close to Bourbon Street. The room was very comfortable.

We spent a lot of time researching hotels on TripAdvisor. This turned out to be a great choice. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.