We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“small and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location. Just far enough off Bourbon not to hear noise. Very clean though the rooms are a bit small.
Very cool shower. Very nice to have breakfast included, and a ticket for a drink from the bar. Everyone was very friendly and extremely helpful in finding places to eat, etc.

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard room, they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    446
    88
    16
    19
See reviews for
201
822
45
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I love this hotel, for so many reasons. First, it's right in the French Quarter. If you are so inclined it's just one street off of Bourbon, and if you, like me, avoid Bourbon for its famous stench and other reasons, you can spend your whole time in the Quarter at Le Marais in relative quiet and beauty, but be right in the big fat middle of it all. Also, the salt water pool is LOVELY year 'round. And the staff is SO SO SO nice and exactly cool enough. The sheets on the bed are soft and cotton, the bathrooms are very nice and clean, and the bacon in the mornings is crispy and thin, just like I like it. I would wish for better, hotter coffee available earlier, but other than that...it's practically perfect in every way. And when I forgot some very important documents, they were FED-EXed to me immediately and arrived within 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a back-facing room. It was always quiet. There was never any noise from the street or the other guests. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and I especially appreciated the complimentary WiFi and bottles of water daily. The location could not be better, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Would absolutely stay here again, and recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is 'perfect' for a number of reasons.

1. Great prices, even during Mardi Gras
2. A classy on-site cocktail lounge
3. A friendly, well informed staff
4. Quiet, clean rooms
5. Central location yet quiet rooms.
6. Wonderful breakfasts

My only regret about our trip was that we wasted several days in a noisy, cheap room when we could have been at the Le Marais. This is one of the most well-run hotels we have ever experienced. It is barely a block from all of the action on Bourbon Street, but there was never a problem with outside noise. While the hotel was clearly full, their well constructed building made the rooms very quiet. The modern bar was a quiet respite from a busy day and their morning breakfast fare was clearly up to the high standards of New Orleans cuisine. Did not try their room service, so no comment in that area.

We are looking forward to spending additional days and nights in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We had an upper room facing the Main Street but the street sound was barely noticeable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first stay at this property and, if the F.Q. is your main focus, you won't find a better place. We have been to N.O. many times and this property is very close to some of the best restaurants, shopping and bars in the area. The hotel is tucked in just south from Oceana, (a superb restaurant and a regular stop for us for breakfast as the duplicate a pre-Katrina favorite's menu from Petunia's) and adjacent to the Royal Sonesta. Upon entering the reception area you can tell this is a fine renovation of an older building. Modern entry and bar/breakfast area with a comfortable courtyard was just past check-in. A complimentary beverage was offered as well as a light breakfast for the morning. The rooms were a bit tight but fine for two. Modern touches in the bathrooms and throughout the room were noted. An in-room safe is available. Complimentary water for bedside also. The bed and pillows were top notch quality. While we were there, their sister property, Hotel Mazarin, took over the number one spot on Tripadvisor, according to their bartender, so they are aware of the need to produce quality service. We were able to get a very competitive price online also. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great place. Every morning a wonderful comp continental breakfast. We got a room overlooking the courtyard which was very quiet. I would stay here any time I am in town. The front desk folks were great. The cleaning staff were all outstanding.

Room Tip: No restaurant except for cont. breakfast. That is reason for room service. I could not clear it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very pleased with our hotel. It was in wonderful condition, the staff were very professional and friendly, and it was lovely. We were on the second floor and had a balcony over Conti Street, and it was pretty noisy at night, because it's 1/2 block from Bourbon Street. There's a lot of street traffic, but there's very little noise from within the hotel. The location was perfect for walking everywhere in the French Quarter and it was very easy to grab a cab for longer distances. There's no "last call" in New Orleans, so the last of the drinking crowd was still around at 6:00 am. I would love to stay in this hotel again, but I would certainly request a room over the courtyard. There is no restaurant on-site, but they have a continental breakfast that is included with the price of the room.

Room Tip: If you would like to sleep, ask for a room away from Conti Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.