We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Year High School Reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Phoenix Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“50th Year High School Reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was a part of a group of five women who stayed at Hotel Le Marais in New Orlean (rooms 503, 506, and 511 from April 3-7, 2013, and am happy to "share my opinin" with TripAdvisor.
Our rooms/beds were just fine, the "free" breakfasts were above average, and the public areas were spotless and attractive.

The best part: The entire hotel staff was WONDERFUL! Special mention must go to EUGENE< PIERRE< JAMAL, MARIANA...and to the young man from the Philippines (whose namie I forgot....sorry!) who was recently promoted to a new posistion as a front desk General or Manager. They were all incredibly cheerful, efficient, and bent over backwards to make sure our group felt comfortable, happy, and SPECIAL.

That said, I have only two "negatives:

(1) Our reservations were VERY mixed up/confused, despite making them in October or November, 2012...almost until the minute we arrived. Susan Adams and I bombarded the Hotel Le Marias with MANY phone calls and emails. It worked out well in the end though thank goodness, but it truly was a mess. The reservations people and/or 1-800 # people need more training (or replacing).

(2) Another small gripe....the blu, overhead lighting in the lounge area at night is just plain weird. It makes everyone looked washed-out, sickly! Think PINK! or have little table lamps....or....

All in all though, Hotel Le Marais was a great choice for our group and enabled us to have a good New Orleans-style experience!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very honor to hear that you chose Hotel le marais for your 50th year High School Reunion and that you had a marvelous time! We deeply appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion with other travelers here in TripAdvisor. Our team spends many hours of customer service training so they can provide our guests an unforgetable and personal experience like yours-I will make sure to pass on this beautiful review to my staff. We are deeply sorry to hear that you had problems with your reservations but we are glad that we were able to resolve the confussion. We will definitely take your suggesstion into account with our blue overhead lighting. Thank you so much for staying with us and please comeback soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    377
    83
    13
    18
See reviews for
162
720
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First time in New Orleans from Canada. Five of us travelling on business stayed there for several nights arriving April 23, 2013. Booking the five rooms via phone was the most painful experience I have ever had for a hotel, I was on the phone for 25 minutes and had to re-iterate what I wanted several times, then go through each room booking one at a time and regurgitate my credit card number several times during that process which seemed a bit ridiculous. I would recommend booking online if possible.

Overall great stay. Very nice hotel, rooms very clean, quiet despite it's close location to Bourbon street (only 1/2 block away), very convenient location for hitting up the Bourbon nightlife, awesome outdoor lounge area and great bar (you even get one free drink upon check-in). Had the free continental breakfast on our last day, it is available after 7:30AM. Food was great.

Parking is across the street in a shared underground parkade in the neighboring hotel, valet drivers at both facilities were absolutely awesome and very helpful and courteous. Upon arrival I self-parked as there was no room on the street to stop and check-in with valet, found out after you can just park on the downramp into the parkade if there is no room onstreet then check in to get valet. The front desk attendant was a bit rude when I tried converting my self-park checkin over to valet as she had already "processed her paperwork" for the night; it was actually the neighboring hotel valet attendant that demonstrated the customer service I would expect in this situation and told us he would look after it. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was such a pleasure to host your reservations for you and your group during your first visit to New Orleans and there is no better place than to stay at Hotel le marais. We are very sorry that you had such a hard time booking your reservations but I am glad to inform you that we just transferred to a different call center that will provide our guests a better booking experience. I have to agree with you as Hotel le marais has the privileged to be located right in the heart of the French Quarter which allows you the ability to walk to the Bourbon street nightlife, great restaurants and great jazz music. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary cocktail at our VIVE! Bar and our complimentary breakfast. We are deeply sorry to hear that we weren't able to provide you with the high quality of service we are known for but I hope that this incident doesn't keep you from giving Hotel le marais another chance to serve you. Thank you for staying with us and we sure hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose the Le Marais based on Trip Advisor reviews. Everything that could be said has already been said. The location is great! You are right in the heart of the party. When the night is over, it's a short walk to your hotel. The beds were very comfortable, with plenty of pillows and soft linen sheets. We were in room 410, which was a "premium" balcony room, facing the courtyard. I didn't hear any noise during our stay, which included weekend nights. There is a large flat screen tv and small coffee maker in the room. The only downside is that there is absolutely no room service or hotel food service available, except for a continental style breakfast which is served in lounge area each morning. Housekeeping was lacking, I had to ask that the floor be vacuumed after not being done for 4 days. We were so busy outside of the room, enjoying New Orleans that I didn't bother to report it until it was almost time to leave.
Unfortunately, someone helped themselves to some of our property, just some souvenirs, but still disappointing, so as always, be sure to lock up any valuables. Overall, we had a great time in NOLA.

Room Tip: Room 410 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for hotel le marais. We appreciate the kind words on our comfortable beds, soft linen sheets and pillows. I am very concerned about the service you received during your stay and I would love to speak to you in further detail, you can please reach me at daffne.ruglas@interstatehotels.com or (504) 525-2300. Thank you so much for staying with us and we sure hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Le Marais for 4 nights on the recommendation of TripAdvisor and weren't disappointed. We asked for a room overlooking the courtyard and couldn't believe how quiet it was even though the hotel is only 1/2 a block from Bourbon Street (which is crazy noisy). The room and common areas were clean and comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel couldn't have been more convenient. The breakfasts were good (especially the sausages) and we were each given a ticket for a free drink at the hotel bar upon arrival. There was a safe in the room, a good-sized TV and lots of cushy pillows.The only thing missing was a mini-fridge but I can understand this omission because of the amount of drinking that goes on in the vicinity.

Room Tip: If you want quiet at night, choose a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
It has been such a delight to read such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor and we deeply thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We are glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during your 4 night stay and that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. Thank you so much for your kind words on our staff. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and that you really like our sausages, our complimentary cocktail and our amenities in your room. We deeply appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Depends what you are looking for. The hotel is situated close to everything in the Quarter. That means easy to walk everywhere. It also means noisy at the weekend especially in the early hours - but that is only to be expected if you are on Conti. Get a room in the rear courtyard if you wake easily.

The decor is fine and they have made a great attempt at maximizing the use of space. A cockroach in the bathroom was a surprise additional guest - we notified the front desk. The staff are friendly and work pretty hard.

Would we go back, probably not

Room Tip: Street has a great view but the courtyard is peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to write a review for Hotel le marais about your recent stay. I have to agree with you as our hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quarter were you can easily walk to all attractions and walk back to the hotel to relax. Thank you for your kind words on our friendly and hardworking staff which is carefully selected to be able to provide our guests with an unforgetable experience. Thank you so much for bringing the additional guest to our attention as we have already eliminated this issue. We sure hope to see you again soon. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TA reviews and we were not disappointed. From the moment we checked in we were delighted with all aspects of this establishment. The room was modern and immaculate and we heard no noise from outside or inside during the night. The location could hardly have been better - half block from Bourbon St in one direction and half a block from Royal St in the other. There were numerous dining options within a short walk and the front desk was quite happy to make a recommendation. If we come back to NO (and I hope we will) the first place we will look for, will be Hotel Le Marais

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I went to New Orleans during the French Quarter Festival and stayed at Hotel Le Marais. I'd highly recommend it. While it's doesn't have all the amenities that a full sized (Westin like) hotel might, it still has plenty to offer and met all of our requirements. The location was perfect for us right in the French Quarter and we walked everywhere we wanted to go. The facility and rooms were spotless and well kept. The room was great as was the breakfast in the morning. I'd definitely return. Great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Wow! It has been a great pleasure to read such a wonderful review for Hotel le marais here on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for sharing your most recent experience with other travelers. We are very happy to hear that you and your wife had an amazing stay and that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities we had to offer such as our great location where you can easily walk to all sightseeing and restaurants, the spotless and well kept rooms and facilities, and our great breakfast. We sure can't wait to serve you again in the future. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.