We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hot and cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My first impression of the hotel was very positive, the front desk and bell staff were welcoming. The room was well decorated and appointed. They had also done a first class job of sound proofing the noise from the street so the room was very comfortable. The cold part was over the 4 day staff the cleaning staff we hit and miss, one day they completely missed cleaning our room. Help from the front desk staff on cabs and dinner reservation was lack luster. In summary a good hotel but not a great one.

Room Tip: Courtyeard room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    826
    327
    76
    11
    19
See reviews for
133
650
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first trip to New Orleans and we had very little time to explore so we needed a hotel in a good location. Hotel Le Marais was within walking distance to everything in the French Quarter and a half-block from Bourbon Street. The hotel was clean, comfortable, a nice welcoming drink and a sweet courtyard pool area to enjoy. I drank my wine in the lovely courtyard and thought, "I will come back here." At night there were lots of questionable characters around so be aware of the surroundings. New Orleans is famous for panhandlers and worse. The hotel staff was helpful and the continental breakfast was nice. The shower was kind of weird with the openness of it and may be dangerous to children and older people. The king sized bed was very comfortable in a small room but we were hardly in it anyhow. It was a good choice and we were so glad we chose it. Thanks Trip Advisor! I always read the reviews and I would have missed this little gem if I hadn't read Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: There is hall noise, as is the pattern in lots of older hotels but we faced the courtyard wall and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We go to New Orleans at least 4 times a year and have stayed all over. Do yourself a favor and look no further than the Le Marais. The staff is excellent, the location is incredible, and despite being 1/2 a block from Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter and across the street from the Royal Sonesta, you would never know it. It's quiet and an oasis amidst the chaos of Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel le Marais the last week of February. Our room had a balcony and overlooked the courtyard --- SO quiet! The room was plenty large for the two of us and was nicely furnished. The only small negative was lack of space on the bathroom vanity top. The shower is a walk-in type (nice and great water pressure). I don't know how the location could be better! Very close to Bourbon Street, shopping, riverfront, Canal street (trolleys) and great restaurants. With all that so close, our room was still so quiet, and we both slept very well. The breakfast was very good -- we ate in the courtyard a couple of mornings. The staff was unbelievable -- so helpful and friendly. Husband says fastest valet service anywhere! Also another plus is the hotel security - requiring room key access to elevator, fitness center, etc. We will absolutely stay at the Hotel le Marais again - perfect choice!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend rooms on courtyard side as opposed to streetside for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Le Marais for 4 nites in March. We enjoyed our stay very much. It is a very attractive hotel with tasteful modern furnishings. I booked a Superior King room because we were going to be staying 4 nites and wanted a little more space. Our room overlooked the courtyard and didn't have a balcony. The room was very quiet at nite. There is one dresser with three drawers, two nightstands and a desk in the room, with a full length and small mirror. Also an easy chair. The bed is VERY comfortable. The closet is small. Even tho we liked the room for its size and comfort, the bathroom shower did not have adequate pressure and the vanity is also small, even tho there was room for a larger one. The location is perfect, close to several good restaurants and a half block off of Rue Royale, which has excellent shopping. It is also one half block off of Bourbon Street. The front desk was most helpful and knowledgeable. The complimentary breakfast was good, included bacon, sausage, eggs, toast and English muffins, and three juices and milk. (coffee of course) The "Vive" bar is a great place to have a drink. The courtyard is large and secluded with plenty of seating space and tropical plants. We did not use the pool but it looked very inviting.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a courtyard view for a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location in the French Quarter. Rooms are on the small side but well decorated, with iron, safe, coffee maker and free wi-fi. The only thing missing is a small fridge. Good breakfast buffet included. Nice outdoor patio with small pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location is good but not awesome. It is very close to Bourbon Street and you can hear some of the festivities late into evening. Hotel is small with some character. Nothing sets it a cut above other places in my books. It is not as luxurious as some other spots. Solid choice but no wow factor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais and for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay. I am very sorry that we weren't able to meet your expectations in service, location and quality. Bourbon street is one of the biggest attractions in the City and I have to agree with you that sometimes you could hear all the fun that tourists and locals are having. I am very interested to speak with you in further details about your recent stay and how we could have met your needs. You can please reach me at daffne.ruglas@interstatehotels.com or
(504) 200-3154. I hope that this experience don't keep you from giving Hotel le marais another chance. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.