We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Marais is a welcome oasis in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Le Marais is a welcome oasis in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a wonderful surprise Hotel Le Marais is.It is truly an oasis in the middle of New Orleans. Located just a block from Bourbon Street and an easy walk anywhere in the French Quarter. This is a small, boutique hotel with friendly staff throughout. In my opinion this hotel is best suited to mature visitors to the area who will appreciate the calm and quiet atmosphere.

From the moment I spoke with Pierre on the telephone to request a room away from the elevator or ice machine to the moment he greeted us at the front desk, the staff was outstanding.

Shawn, kind, pleasant and helpful is a true asset to the staff, Danielle, concerned that my flight was cancelled and the second one delayed, did all that she could to make an otherwise inconvenient time more enjoyable even suggesting a nice little place for lunch and asking if I wanted to return to my room, and JT serving up hospitality and delicious drinks at the bar in true New Orleans fashion,

From the breakfast staff, ever attentive and efficient, to housekeeping who greeted us pleasantly in the halls to the gentleman who, I believe, may do repairs, the staff is friendly and helpful.

This Hotel is a gem in the sea of choices in New Orleans. It is impeccably clean, well-staffed, and comfortable. We enjoyed all of the amenities including the business center, the exercise room, the pool and the patio. I am a huge fan of the small size and appreciate the hospitality extended to us during our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from elevator or ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    827
    327
    76
    11
    19
See reviews for
133
650
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel and our room were very clean. There is no concierge here and it is hit or miss at the front desk whether or not someone is knowledgeable about the area. The location is great. The breakfast was okay. I had asked for a refrigerator in the room for when we got there. Our room was not ready upon arrival so they said they would call us when it was. No one ever called and when we returned to the hotel they said all the refrigerators were gone by the time we got to check in. I had to call two times after the first couple of days to get one. I wish the bathroom door did not have the see through panel in it. We had our child staying with us in the room so that was not a good feature.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Upon arrival we were checked right in to our top floor room. Elevator quickly took us up to our floor. We quickly threw our bags in the room, threw two complimentary bottles of water in our bags and two in the room fridge and headed to the lobby. We walked through the outdoor sitting area with natural small water pool and had a glass of complimentary cold lemon berry water. We went to the bar that was just opening up for our two complimentary drinks. The bartender was very friendly and cooked us up some original cocktails not on the menu. Room was clean, fridge, hairdryer, nice shampoo, conditioner and lotion with soaps. Nice shower and modern type fixtures. Bedding was nice and plenty of pillows. Nice flatscreen. Roomy and a great view of the road outside. Window did not open to the outside and there was plexi glass over it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Husband & I visited recently and totally enjoyed our stay at the hotel.. Everything including the breakfast was perfect. Location was walkable to all points of interest and was a joy to return to after a long day of sight seeing. We especially loved the colorful decor of the hotel, modern and jewel tones. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Should we return, we would not hesitate to stay with Hotel Le Marais.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear ono ono,

Thank you for choosing Hotel le marais to celebrate your Birthday. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time.
Thank you for your compliments on our perfect breakfast, the colorful and decor of the hotel modern and jewel stones and our friendly and helpful staff. We are glad that we were able to serve you and we sure can't wait to see you again in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, the Le Marais is located just steps from Bourbon street. Even though it is so close to the action, it is surprisingly quiet. The beds are immensely comfortable, the TV is huge, the bathroom great and the rooms are very relaxing. The staff are also great - recommending things to do in New Orleans as well as amazing restaurants - which we wouldn't have found without their help. The hotel offers free breakfast which is an added bonus and the lobby and outdoor area are really relaxing and chilled out. The bar at the hotel is a nice way to start the evening. This hotel made our stay in New Orleans extra special - and you know it is a great hotel when you can't wait to get home in the evening or stay a little longer in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear CC161,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at Hotel le marais with other travelers. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for complimenting on our immensely comfortable beds, our huge TVs, great bathrooms and our relaxing rooms. Our commitment is to provide extra special stays to our guets each and every single time and we are glad to hear that we were able to provide that extra service to you. Thank you for choosing us and please come back and see us soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet hotel with the best location in the French Quarter, this is it. No frills here as far as dining, only the bar, but the courtyard and the rooms are very peaceful. That is if you don't stay on the street. Bar noise from next door can be very loud and late! But you're in New Orleans. Simply ask for a room that is not on the street. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the street, too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear USShredder,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel le marais in New Orleans. We are delighed to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We sure can't wait to see you again in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed 3 nights early November and had a great time. The hotel is just off Bourbon Street so amazingly convenient for all the good stuff you might want to do. Staff very friendly and helpful, We had a Superior room with view into the internal courtyard, quite pleasant, and the room was exceptionally well equipped and comfortable.
We availed ourselves of the free drink they offer, and a few more and enjoyed the included breakfast (though sometimes they may have been a little slow in replenishing things that had run out). But that's a small niggle - all in all it was great, would very happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear RedHeadPeter,

Hotel le marais would like to thank you for staying with us and enjoying three great nights at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words on our very friendly and helpful staff, our quite pleasant courtyard, and our exceptionally-well equiped and comfortable rooms. At Hotel le marais we pride in providing the highest quality of service and I am glad that we have done it again. Thank you for staying with us and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.