We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
London, England
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed 3 nights early November and had a great time. The hotel is just off Bourbon Street so amazingly convenient for all the good stuff you might want to do. Staff very friendly and helpful, We had a Superior room with view into the internal courtyard, quite pleasant, and the room was exceptionally well equipped and comfortable.
We availed ourselves of the free drink they offer, and a few more and enjoyed the included breakfast (though sometimes they may have been a little slow in replenishing things that had run out). But that's a small niggle - all in all it was great, would very happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear RedHeadPeter,

Hotel le marais would like to thank you for staying with us and enjoying three great nights at our hotel. We appreciate your kind words on our very friendly and helpful staff, our quite pleasant courtyard, and our exceptionally-well equiped and comfortable rooms. At Hotel le marais we pride in providing the highest quality of service and I am glad that we have done it again. Thank you for staying with us and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    377
    83
    13
    18
See reviews for
162
720
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cgreeneyes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wonderful, Clean, Hotel. VERY close to the action of Bourbon St, but was totally quiet. We did request a higher floor, courtyard, away fr the elevator and ice machine. Staff were v helpful.The included breakfast was great; much better than std continental b'fasts: great bacon, sausage, eggs, various bagels, danish, cereals, oatmeal, juices,fruit. Nice bar w/ a free drink.
Cons: Not really what I'd call a pool, more like a quite small wading pool.
The shower was v different w/its 1/2 panel door; i knew there was no tub, but not a detachable showerhead, so take a shower cap. My main dislike was that the lobby cookies appeared to be fr a box, and they were in a jar which people could stick their hands into, so I didn't take any, and had to go out and buy an evening sweet; I expected nice-sized freshly baked cookies like at other hotels.

Room Tip: Courtyard, higher floor, away fr elevator and ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Cgreeneyes,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais in New Orleans. We are happy to hear that you had a delighted stay. Thank you for your very nice comments on our wonderful and clean hotel, very helpful staff, our variety breakfast (sausage, eggs, various bagels, great bacon, oatmeal, juices, fruit, and nice bar with a free drink). We would also like to thank you for your suggestions as they will be a great help. Once again thank you for staying with us and please comeback and see us soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I wasn't planning on writing a review because I was staying here for a wedding (and therefore didn't pick the place myself) but they handled a travel adventure my husband and I had so well that I had to comment. In brief, our connecting flight to New Orleans got cancelled about two hours after it was supposed to leave and we had to miss our first night at the hotel. It was way past the point where we could cancel without penalty and I called the hotel only to tell them to please not give up our room and that we would be there at around 8 or 9am the next morning when our new flight got in. The room was ready when we arrived and they let us check in at 8:30am. When we went to check out less than 24 hours later I was extremely pleasantly surprised that they only charged us for one night. I didn't even ask (and I wasn't going to anyway). Maybe I'm jaded but I was completely not expecting that. Super kudos to the Hotel Le Marais for helping alleviate some of our stress with our travel fiasco. (FYI, our flight was cancelled because the pilot decided not to show up. We were on the plane and everything. Not American Airlines either. How is that even possible?)

As for the hotel itself, the room was comfortable and the location great. Again, I wasn't there to tourist much but for the few hours I had it was nice to just walk out the door and take a stroll. The breakfast was also a bonus we hadn't anticipated and very happily received. Can be noisy at night but some earplugs did the trick and I'm pretty sure any hotel in that area would be noisy.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter. We were on the top floor and I think it helped. Rooms right in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Jesster810,

We are delighted to hear that you decided to post a review of your most recent experience at Hotel le marais in New Orleans.

Wow, we definitely do not see flights getting canceled because the pilot decided not to show up at least not that often. We are so sorry that you had to go through that experience with the airlines, it must have been very stressful especially if you were already on the plane. One thing that we do best at Hotel le marais is to take your stress and worries away and I am glad to hear that we have done it one more time. Thank you for the kudos and for staying with us. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our trip was fun and this hotel is in the perfect location inside the French Quarter. Hotel was very clean, the staff were very nice. The bar area is very nice as well. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but hotel experience was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Ted C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais in New Orleans. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay and that you enjoyed our very clean hotel, very nice staff and very nice bar. Please come back and visit us soon. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for our first anniversary after reading a massive amount of reviews. We were not disappointed. The location was great, we had no problems with street noise, although we were on the top floor. The breakfast buffet included in the rate was more than expected, it was pretty much a full breakfast. The martinis we had at the bar were delicious.. The room was typical boutique hotel-size (on the small side) but well decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable. The rooms and hotel were immaculate. I have stayed at many of the smaller hotels in the Quarter and a couple of the larger ones. Although we booked well ahead of time and got a great deal,but we would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, so we had no problems with street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Initially, we selected the Hotel Le Marais for its location, in the elegant heart of the Vieux Carre (aka French Quarter). When we saw its elegant contemporary decor, and when we were warmly welcomed at check-in, we knew we would love staying there. Our room was large, well-furnished, super comfortable. Personally, I would have preferred a larger bathroom and softer pillows for my head, but those are itsy-bitsy tiny objections.
We loved everything about the H. Le Marais (spending 5 nights there, over Thanksgiving) and we highly recommend it. The rates are VERY reasonable for such comfort, convenience and quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you want to stay near Bourbon Street, but want to be able to get away from Bourbon Street (and once you've been on Bourbon St, you will want to stay away) then this is a great location. It really is quiet, in terms of noise from Bourbon, you can't hear a thing. However, if there is a 'party' group in the bar, you definitely can hear it if you have a courtyard facing room, though they close at 11 so it's not that annoying. The staff was always very nice and helpful, the room was very comfortable, clean, fresh and well appointed. The gym is also nicely outfitted with elliptical, treadmills, weights and resistance machines. Sweet little bar too. The continental breakfast had eggs, meat, cereals, yogurts, etc. Yes, I am finicky and liked it quite a lot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.