We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, Intimate, Boutique Hotel in the Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
264 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Hip, Intimate, Boutique Hotel in the Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I first came across this hotel in Budget Travel Magazine as it was rated in the top 100 boutique hotels in the US. After reading reviews here on TA, I was convinced this was the right hotel for us. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the heart of the French Quarter, but away from all the noise it brings, and if you are looking for a modern, cool, hip and small intimate hotel, without breaking the bank.

Location: Between crazy, fun Bourbon Street and artful, sophisticated Royal Street. Perfect for those who are like me, and like a little of both. I loved how we could walk off Bourbon and sneak into our hip hotel, which almost seemed hidden in the street. It's like a secret.

Rooms: I emailed a request a week before our stay for a room away from the elevators (which I read on here, how noisy it can be). They honored our request and our room was located in what seemed like a private hall which only consisted of a few rooms. It was perfect! The walls are thin, and we happened to have two very noisy neighbors, one partying until the wee morning hours, and another with the kid crying at night. Oh well, it is New Orleans, and not the hotel's fault. The room was what I expected. Very nice, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small for two people, but it works. My only complaint here is although the modern shower design is cool, it was very difficult for me to shave my legs. Since there is such little room, no bar close to the water, or anything - yoga balancing skills are a must. Large TV, desk, chair, dresser, safe, bottled water . . .everything one needs.

Kids: I was surprised to see kids here, not many, but a few. This hotel does not cater to kids, and honestly, if you have kids here . . .why? The pool is small, there is no restaurant - only a bar, and you get a free cocktail upon check in, this should be your clue.

Pool: The lagoon type pool is small, intimate and great for a mid-day cool off while sipping a cocktail. My one complaint here is they need to keep the towel supply full. I had to ask for more towels and saw it empty on two occasions.

Staff: Very friendly, and all went our of their way for any request. We were greeting every time we entered or left the hotel. Any questions were answered and they had no problem calling a taxi for us to the airport.

Cleanliness: Clean, but not perfect. I felt the hotel could improve in this area. There was a dead roach in the courtyard that laid there for a bit. (yes, I do realize roaches are common and should be expected down South) The rooms were cleaned, but I also felt housekeeping could have made the bathrooms sparkle a bit more. For some reason our housekeeper never took our tip - very odd.

Breakfast: No complaints on continental breakfast. The bacon was perfect. There was fruit, juices, some type of egg (scrambled or boiled) each day, bread, muffins, yogurt, cereal and coffee. You won't go away hungry.

Bar: Very nice. Great for a cocktails while swimming, or nice to sit at before heading out for the evening, or returning from your night. Great music - young top 40's. Bartenders, like the rest of the staff are very nice and personable.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! This really is an excellent hotel at a great price. Thanks for the great stay and New Orleans experience!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear AkronTravelBug,

Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans thanks you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay. Thank you for your compliments on our hotel location, rooms, pool, staff, breakfast, and bar. At Hotel Le Marais we strive in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to hear that we have done it again, it make us very happy. Thank you for staying with us and for allowing us to WOW you with our excellent service. Please come back and see us soon. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    484
    97
    20
    20
See reviews for
230
900
50
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel, location and staff were all excellent. When you enter the hotel you find yourself in a modern and efficient lobby that is complemented with a comfortable courtyard, and an inviting bar. The rooms were spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. Complementary breakfast was a great way to start your day. Two items in the room I would change are (1)additional towel bars or hooks in the bathroom and (2) less firm pillows.

The location was by far the most ideal, close to Bourbon street yet you were not disturbed by late night noise. Being centrally located allowed you to walk 15-20 minutes to most restaurants and activities.

Everyone at Hotel le Marais works like a concierge, very helpful and providing local information.
Elbert Pierre the concierge who checked my family in contributed greatly to our having a great time and our looking forward to a return trip. JC and Laurent at the VIVE bar were a wealth of local knowledge in addition to making a great Sazerac.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear TJQ01,

Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans thanks you for writing a review for our hotel. We are excited to hear that you had a thrilled stay. Thank you for your kind words on our hotel, location, and staff especially Pierre our Front Desk Agent, Lauren and JT at VIVE! Bar. We are very happy to hear that we provided you with nothing less than excellent service. Thank you for staying with us and we surely can't wait to see you again in the future. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Extremely nice hotel, with exceptionally helpful staff.
We spend a week in Le Marais and enjoyed every minute.
I can't describe what was better: the room with balcony, the breakfast, the pool, or the great cocktails in the lounge. Wonderful experience.
Thank you Le Marais for making us want to come back to New Orleans!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Brigadoon68,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are very happy to hear that you had a thrilled stay. Thank you for your kind words on our hotel, exceptionally helpful staff, the room with a balcony, the breakfast, the pool and the great cocktails in the pool. Thank you for choosing us and please comeback and see us again. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is very well located, clean, quiet despite the location and nicely decorated. The included wifi and breakfast are definitely a plus. My only negative comment is that the room is a bit small (we were 3 in a double bed room) as the pool is. Otherwise it was a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has a view on the pool, nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Emilie G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our hotel, wifi, breakfast and rooms. Please come back and see us and we hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights for a vacation trip to New Orleans and loved it. Our room was a great place to rest after a day of sightseeing and nights of big meals and drinks. The noise from Bourbon St could not be heard from the hotel at all. The breakfast and free waters everyday were great additions. The rooms were clean and the bed comfy. Would definitely come back! Excellent stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Apriljl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are completely thrilled to hear that we provided you with excellent service. At Hotel Le Marais we strive in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to hear that we have done it again, it makes us really happy. Thank you for your kind words on our hotel, breakfast, free water, our clean and comfy rooms. It was a great pleasure to have you as one of our guests we surely can't wait to see you again. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend 2012. I think this hotel is a steal if you catch it on an off-season weekend when the prices are lower. In any event, the rooms were really comfortable, though slightly on the smaller side. We were on the courtyard side of the building, and you'd never know you were steps from the mayhem on Bourbon.

The complimentary breakfast was great, and the welcome drinks were a nice touch. Love the courtyard and pool -- very upscale feeling, but cozy and completely non-pretentious.

One downside to this being a boutique hotel: there's no housekeeping after midnight, so we had to walk down to get the extra towels the housekeeper never left. Also we had a hard time getting the shower gels refilled, and had to call to ask for this to be done. But otherwise the service was outstanding, especially Shawn at the front desk.

I will definitely stay here again and recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Stat on the courtyard side, away from the ice machine and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Camille H,

Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans thanks you for writing review for our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a delighted stay. Thank you for your kind words on our breakfast, welcome drinks, courtyard and pool, and our Outstanding Service especially Shawn at the Front Desk. We sure can't wait to see you again in the future. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hotel Le Marais makes a great effort to be a high-end boutique hotel but misses the mark a bit. Service is great, location is perfect (right in the center of the French Quarter on Conti & Bourbon), the building is secure and safe, and the rooms are mostly comfy, but the design lacks quality. The sliding bathroom door doesn't quite close all the way, there is little to no room for toiletries to be stored in the bathroom, 1 bathrobe, no in-room cooler or fridge, the toilet seat wouldn't stay up, and while the shower looks cool, there's no where to keep your stuff! The bed was soft and comfy though (most important).

The free drink is a nice touch. You can use one voucher per person at any time during your stay.

The courtyard looks great in the photos but no breeze gets in there, plenty of bugs at night, and the salt-water pool is warm when you want a cold dip and looks more like a swamp than a refreshing oasis.

Overall, I don't regret staying at Le Marais but when I return to NOLA I will rest my head elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear wynoami,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments and suggestions on our hotel, rooms, beds, and complimentary drinks. If you would like to speak to me in further detail please don't hesitate to call me at (504) 200-3154 or e-mail me at daffne.ruglas@interstatehotels.com. We hope to see you again in the future. Warm Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,586 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.