We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here every Year for Anniversary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Jackson, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay here every Year for Anniversary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary. 7 years in a row so far. Great location if you want to be close to bourbon and the quarter. This hotel has small rooms but the most comfortable bed ever, wide screen TV, very cozy for 2! We stay in the King Suite. The Vive Bar is great. Alex is a great bartender. The court Yard is beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast isn't great but bacon, sausage, boiled eggs, bagels and fruit is plenty to get you going and free if you are on a budget! The coffee is delicious as well. We have yet to have a problem at this hotel. Ladies, you do need to know that there is no bath tub. Stand up shower ONLY so just keep that in mind. Doesn't bother me but just in case you prefer a bath over a shower. The restaurant right next door is WONDERFUL. Oceana Grill and Bar. This restaurant was featured on "hells kitchen" and obviously took all of Gorden Ramsey's chef advice because the food is outstanding. The Eggs Benedict and the crab cakes are a MUST HAVE! All in all, this Hotel is affordable for it's location and a very nice stay! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans and thank you for consistently returning to our hotel and stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are very eager to see you again next year for your anniversary. Thank you for your compliments on our beds, rooms, VIVE! Bar, hot breakfast, and Alex our great bartender. Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    374
    83
    13
    18
See reviews for
160
717
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOLA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for some time now......
We stayed at this hotel when it was the St. Ann. WOW!! What an amazing transformation. The rooms are lovely and the comp breakfast was fabulous!! We were very pleased with everything- however..... we were near the only elevator in the hotel so it was a bit noisy, I normally think to ask for a room away from the elevators and I forgot. We also encountered some VERY rowdy people in the room next door . I finally called the front desk and security arrived within minutes. He also checked in with us and said he would monitor the situation to make sure things did not get loud again. This was very much appreciated and it did stay quite after that. I was very impressed with this and the rest of the customer service we encountered. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are glad to hear that you had a delighted stay. Please comeback and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay in the heart of the French Quarter. The location is great and close to all attractions and restaurants in the French Quarter. The hotel is very clean and boasts an array of amenities including bar, pool, fitness center and computers for guest use. Enjoy a drink in the elegant courtyard under the banana trees. Very relaxing. The rooms are a good size and have flat screen TV's. The room and bathroom are very clean and modern. The hotel offers a nice breakfast to get your day started. No need to run around the FQ looking for a breakfast site. The staff were all friendly, courteous and accomodating. This is my second visit to NO and my prior stay was at one of the major, established larger hotels in the FQ. I would rate this hotel on a par or even better than my earlier experience. You can't go wrong by staying at Hotel Le Marais.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for complimenting on our hotel, courtyard, bar, room and bathroom, and staff. It is really great to know that we have made another guest satisfied! Thank you for choosing us and please comeback and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

In nine visits to New Orleans, we have stayed in nine different hotels. All were good to fabulous but we always wanted to try something new. After staying at Le Marais, we would do our first "repeat". First, the location is fantastic. Somehow it always seemed like we were saying "oh, we are right by our hotel". Although very close to Bourbon during spring break, we NEVER heard any noise from the street or any noise in the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe king room on the fifth floor that faced the courtyard. The service was friendly and professional. Thank you Pierre for wonderful recommendations for music. The renovation was beautiful. The lobby is sophisticated and soothing, the rooms attractive and very clean. Unlike other reviewers, we thought the shower was fantastic.....we never had any spray......it is just cool and modern. Linens were great. Housekeeping was immaculate. I am aware that this hotel group is renovating 4 other New Orleans properties.....if they turn out like this and the staff are trained as well, they should all be good choices.

Room Tip: To be surer that the nights are quiet, select a room facing the Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are very glad to hear that you had a delighted stay and nothing make us happier than to hear that our guests are satisfied. Thank you for complimenting on our hotel, service, and Pierre our front desk agent. Thank you once again and please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We just spent 4 days here with friends for a get away and it was perfect. The hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter, but 1/2 block up from Bourbon St and built long ways into the block, with rooms facing an inward courtyard: the result is quiet and private. Take your bathing suit! The pool is small, but nearly hot tub temp and the private courtyard. Two nights we sat here with drinks and dangled our feet in after a long days of walking. The linens were great, large new TV's, every thing is spotless all the time. Every person in the hotel is professional, polite and friendly. I can't say enough about the hotel and the staff..... take a bow Le Marais, you've earned it!

Room Tip: We had the 3rd floor, overlooking the inner courtyard-lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans.

We are glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for your kind words on our pool, rooms, courtyard, and staff. Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Le Marais and we can't wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

What a great little hotel, right in the heart of the French Quarter. This place had everything we wanted, was in a ultra-convenient location, and is staffed by extremely friendly and helpful people. The room was ample-sized, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The warm, salt-water pool was great, especially right after a quick workout in the fitness room (had two-treadmills, an elliptical, and a bike, along with weights and workout balls). Yes, the doors were a little thin when it came to noise, but not anything to keep you from staying here. And to boot, we had a room with a window facing Conti Street, and the noise over on Bourbon (only a half block away) was negligible. You're less than a ten minute walk from Jackson Square and the French Market, and only about five minutes from the stop for both the Canal St. and St. Charles St. streetcar lines. Ten minute walk to Harrah's, if that's your thing....and goodness sakes, there's plenty of selection as far as places to eat without having to walk two blocks! Hands down, Le Marais is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided you such an excellent service. At Hotel Le Marais we strive in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to know that we have done it one more time it make us very happy. Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We (wife+myself) liked the hotel very much. The location was perfect, between Bourbon and Royal streets. The hotel rooms where big enough, modern in style and almost silent from noises coming from the street life. Only two things to complain about. First our room was to close to the elevator doors and there was an annoying "clink-clank" sound everytime the doors opened (unconveniente during the night). My other complain is the pillows, they are tall/big and quite uncomfortable to me. If you like this kind of pillows nevermind this complain. We are overall satisfied, although the room did not come in cheap (usd 300+ per night...). Bottom line: I definitely recommend it, specially for its location and overall comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We definitely can't wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.