We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.... if you are in NOLA to party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good.... if you are in NOLA to party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The hotel is close to Bourbon, only a block away. So you cannot be more close to where it all happens. But unfortunately, being there on business, the location of the hotel attracts those that are there to party, which really ruined my stay.

I got a room right across from the elevator, and the doors have no sound insulation whatsoever. I was constantly woken up by people leaving or coming home from Bourbon... all night. Even sleeping with ear plugs did not help much, because my room was facing the street, and the bed would vibrate to the bass of the music playing in the neighboring bars.

The rooms are nice enough, and the bed is very comfortable. Also, the staff is very nice. If I was visiting NOLA to party, I would have no problems staying here. But next time, I will be back at Loft 523, which is just on the other side of Canal.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators, and try to get a room facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. Thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, beds, and staff. Please comeback and see us again in the future. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    405
    86
    13
    18
See reviews for
179
760
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

First, you can't beat the location! The hotel is beautiful - we spent more time in the courtyard then we ever would have imagined. The pool is heated which makes for a great ending after a day of walking. The rooms are updated and nicely done, beds are comfy, wi-fi is complementary, and the staff friendly. The decor is fun! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed stay. Thank you for your kind words on our hotel, pool, rooms, wi-fi and staff. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel there was a mix up with our room rate, but the manager helped to secure our original rate. After this, he went out of his way to ensure our stay was perfect. The hotel is very clean, well maintained, and the balcony room was awesome. We liked that the hotel was not on Bourbon Street, but you could see still see enough of the action from the balcony. When you are trying to sleep a Bourbon balcony is not all it is cracked up to be :). They also provide a little breakfast in the a.m.
We also enjoyed the calm, retro bar downstairs each night before we headed out. The bartenders were very helpful and friendly. We have suggested this hotel to all of our friends and family who travel to NOLA frequently. We will stay here from now on! Thanks for making this the best break ever. Now...back to reality :(

Room Tip: Get a street or courtyard balcony room! The pool view is nice too. We did not use room service, so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. At Hotel Le Marais we concentrate in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to know that we have accomplished this one more time makes us very happy. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans! We can't wait to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is right off of Bourbon St. but the moment you walk in, you feel like you're in a different world. The lobby is beautiful and the view of the courtyard and saltwater pool is breathtaking. Our room was right on the street but it was incredibly quiet. We were located right outside the elevator and that got a bit noisy at times but not too bad. The bathroom is nice and modern, but too small for the belongings of 2 people. And having no shower door is messy and strange. The see-through bathroom door was fine for my husband and I, but would be a bit strange for other folks who arent so familiar with each other. All in all a wonderful hotel at an extremely reasonable rate. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request away from elevator. Our view of the street was fun, we could keep tabs on the activities, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had a delighted stay. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel, courtyard, and pool. Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Being our first trip to New Orleans, we wanted to get a feel for the French Quarter, so this hotel had an excellent location, just a half block from Bourbon Street and all of the other attractions in the "Quarter". It has the boutique feel and is recently updated. It's a comfortable size to relax around the lobby or pool and bar and avoid the big hotel style. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and reasonable size. We asked for and got a mini fridge at no extra cost. The breakfast is excellent and more than adequate to tie you over to mid afternoon. All in all a very good choice for couples.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room on the street side rather than the back, which tends to overlook al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for your kind words on our breakfast, bar, pool, staff, and rooms. We definitely can't wait to serve you again.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 4-night stay at Hotel Le Marais during our vacation to New Orleans. The room was modern and clean. The free breakfast every morning was a substantial way to start the day (more than just cereal and yogurt - although they had that too). You also get a free cocktail at their bar Vive! as a welcome, delicious! The hotel is located in the heart of the french quarter within walking distance of everything. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had a delighted stay. Thank you for your kind words on our rooms, bar, and breakfast. Nothing make us happier than to hear that you loved your stay and that you will definitely recommend our hotel. Once again thank you for choosing us and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My girlfriends and I stayed at Hotel Le Marais for a girls trip and we were very pleased. The hotel is located a block from Bourbon Street, which allowed us to walk to everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel staff was pleasant and welcoming. When our check in was delayed, they provided us with extra drink coupons for the hotel bar Vive, which according to my girlfriend has the best margaritas in New Orleans! Rooms were not huge but, big enough. The only suggestion I could make would be to put a mini fridge in the rooms. Also, do not use the transportation service that they suggest in their booking confirmation email. They overcharged and will have you waiting at the airport for a hour!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. Thank you for your kind words on our staff and bar. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and we can't wait to serve you again. Also, we have contacted the manager of the transportation services and they would like to assist you with overcharging you and have you wait too long. Here is what the transportation manager said:
"My phone number is 504-251-1716 and please let them know the owner would like the opportunity to address her if she likes" Once again thank you for choosing Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.