We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Home away from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great "Home away from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Marais. It is close to all the action, but not too close. J.T., Pierre and Christine all provided excellent customer service. The hotel was quiet and clean. Even though they don't have a restaurant attached to the hotel it didn't really take away from our experience. There are plenty of places to eat near by. The continental breakfast in the mornings was easy for those mornings we didn't feel like going out. We would definitely recommend Le Marais to our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Warm Greetings Jamee S,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Marais. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and thank you for your compliments on our Front Desk Agents Pierre and Christina and our Bartender JT. We are excited that you had a great time and we can't wait to see you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    397
    85
    13
    18
See reviews for
173
747
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Two nights at the Hotel Le Marais, my husband and I were extremely excited.

Staff: Friendly

Decor: Loved it, very modern

Valet: The valet service is not convenient. There is no valet at the hotel itself, the valet service is across the street with the Royal Sonesta underground parking garage. Hence, no bellman to help with bags upon arrival. During our stay, the front desk clerk on two occasions had a hard time even reaching them to get our vechicle. I will say that the valet (during the day) was super nice.

Room: We booked a room with a balcony. The second floor balcony faces Conti street. Each morning (about 6:30am) I was awoken by loading delivery trucks and traffic and each night I couldn't go to sleep with the bar noise and loud live music nearby. Who sleeps with they come to New Orleans right? Well, I wanted to and I got very little of it. I will say the bed was comfy and room a good size for two.

View: As for the awesome view, it is a view of the Royal Sonesta hotel and underground parking garage. Not a place you'd want to spend more than 10 minutes outside really as there is no seating. I guess if you are a smoker then maybe the balcony would work???? When we checked in there was a huge dumpster outside on the street across from the balcony. Bottom line: Request a room not facing Conti street.

Breakfast: Good

Pool: My husband liked it

Location: This hotel is in the heart of the French Quarters where there are constant foot and car traffic. It is right next to bars, shopping, etc.

Where the hotel can improve: I couldn't find the "privacy please" sign to put up on our door so the maid staff wouldn't bother us. There is no mini bar refridgerator, not a huge deal. The shower is super awkward and no place to really place shampoo, soaps, wash cloths

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Conti Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Warm Greetings Zaihera,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. Thank you for your words on our decor and breakfast. We are really thankful for your sincere words on our valet parking, room, room view, and shower. I can sincerely tell you that we are working on making our valet parking more accessible and faster for our guests. Also, I can totally relate to you on your comment to a room that faces the street or is closed to the elevator since I am a light sleeper I get awake with little noise, perhaps a room looking at the courtyard will work better for you. Also, we are continuosly improving our rooms and we will be adding shower bars to our rooms so guests can place their towels. At our hotel we do not have "Do not Disturb signs" instead we have a button next to the door's lock that you can press and set the "Do not Disturb light on", we are really happy that you commented on this item this way we can make sure that our front desk agents mention it upon guests check in. Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward to see you again in the future.
Best wishes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We fled from our originally booked hotel, the Prince Conti - sounded good but what a dump! - to this place just down the street. Huge relief. Brand new renovation, hip, clean, comfortable. Room rate includes a nice breakfast buffet and delicious coffee, plus one free drink at the bar. The charming courtyard has a heated pool with a history - right after Katrina, the National Guard used the (old, since renovated) pool to get cleaned up.
Prices are reasonable. Stay here.

Room Tip: Even the street facing rooms are quiet, thanks to sound proofed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Checkpointcheryl,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Marais. Thank you for writing a review and thank you for your kind words on our hotel, breakfast, and courtyard. We are anxious to see you again in the future.
Best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for our tenth anniversary. Quiet, clean, beds and bedding very comfortable, nice view of the courtyard, NO noise from pedestrian traffic, and perfect location to Bourbon Street. The bartender was right on with his recommendation for Oysters on the half shell at Felix's where the locals go. Valet service was very prompt and accomodating, secure parking lot. I would have given this five stars but my only complaint was that we did have to wait an hour after check-in time to get our room as there was not one ready. Three other customers were also waiting for their rooms. Since we were only in New Orleans for one night we were a bit frustrated with losing an hour of daylight for sightseeing. That being said I would highly recommend this hotel and certainly return again.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Warm Greetings wildkristin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize that you had to wait an hour for your room to be ready but thank you for letting us know this way we can takle this issue and make it better next time you return. Thank you for your kind words on our beds, bedding, and courtyard. We are looking forward to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I, and another friend staed at Hotel Le Marais for 7 days in February. The hotel is great. It is new, clean and very comfortable. It is a great location - close enough but far enough from Bourbon Street, and close to walk to other tourist areas in the French district. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The daily breakfast is great. The pool is great too - heated if you would like to go swimming when not so hot. The bar tenders are also great - great cocktails and recommendations on where to eat etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Greetings Anita B,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for the kind words on our staff, bartenders, pool, and breakfast. We can't wait to serve you again in the future. Once again thank you for staying with us and Have a great year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Right in the heart of the French Qt, Clean rooms,Great Staff,Nice little Bar.
And a good rate. Whats not to like!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Warm Greetings PapaeConn,

Thank you for your kind words on our hotel, staff, courtyard, and bar. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Le Marais during a birthday trip planning by my boyfriend. I was really pleased with the room and the staff members were wonderful. The bar area is very nice and the bartender was extremely helpful in suggesting some excellent local restaurants. The breakfast was fantastic as were all other accommodations and hotel offerings. You are only a block off of Bourbon street but you would never know it when inside your room. I would definitely go back and certainly recommend this hotel to any friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Warm Greetings Malissa I,

Thank you for writing a review for our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our room, staff, bar area and bartender. At hotel Le Marais we take pride for providing the highest quality of service at all times and it makes us very happy to hear that we have done it once again.

Thank you and Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.