We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Comforts in the Heart of NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern Comforts in the Heart of NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in October 2011 during our wedding week, and we couldn't have asked for more! The stylish modern decor is unlike ANYTHING else in the downtown area (and I have seen quite a few hotels in New Orleans). Contemporary music and lighting welcomes you to the lobby. The bar (Vive!) is classy and chic, and the courtyard is great spot to have a few drinks. The pool is refurbished and heated, and well-maintained (we swam a bit every day). The rooms, though French Quarter sized, are well furnished, the flatscreen TV is large, and the beds are simply heavenly.

Big props to the front desk, housekeeping staff, and to Michael DeZura (the GM) who took the time to greet guests as he walked through the lobby! Nice personal touch!

The free breakfast was better than most, offering not just the usual dry goods, but eggs, bacon, and sausage as well! This was a great way to wake up after a night out on the town.

Bottom line, look no further! This hotel is no poser, they are the real deal!

Room Tip: Try to book a courtyard balcony room, it's worth the extra couple bucks to guarantee a quiet sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Warm Greetings Ryan T,

Thank you for writting a review for our hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you as one of our guests and we are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your compliments on our front desk staff, breakfast, and Michael. We can't wait to see you again!

Happy Holidays,

Daffne Ruglas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    405
    86
    13
    18
See reviews for
179
759
41
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great experience at this Hotel! The rooms were true to the pictures on the website and I loved the modern decor/feel of the hotel. This hotel is a smaller, boutique type hotel and it met out needs in every way. The location was perfect for walking all around the french quarter as well as being close (but not too close) to the nightlife. The continental breakfast, while traditional, was above expectations and saved our money to spend towards our other meals. We enjoyed the bar which had delicious drinks as well as the courtyard area with the pool. Beds were super comfortable. Service was great and super helpful! I would definitely stay here again as well as recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Warm Greetings Heather D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are happy to hear that we delivered A+ service to you and that you enjoy your stay. Thank you for your compliments in our bar, breakfast, and rooms. We can't wait to see you again!!

Happy Holidays,

Daffne Ruglas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

LOVED this hotel. LOVED the staff. Loved the location. Loved the room. Loved the courtyard. Loved everything.

Rooms were well appointed, and quiet.
As a virgo... I am a serious clean freak. This hotel was immaculately clean, the room, the lobby, the courtyard, and the pool.

The place doesn't serve food except for free continental breakfast, but there is several places for food steps away from the front door.

The Staff was so on the ball and polite, it was amazing. Especially after watching a friend deal with check in at her hotel the St. Marie and they were completely unorganized, and absolutely rude to everyone who was upset at the front desk because their rooms were all messed up. I watched for several hours in the lobby one incident after another. So I found even more appreciation for the great staff at the front desk at my hotel.

The lobby was so incredibly cute. All colorful with blue, purple and pink lighting inside and outside. Let me just tell you how nice that is when you stumble into your hotel at 5am completely [--] faced.

The cute bar was a good start for a start out drink, bartender was kewl and friendly just like everyone we encountered at the hotel.

By far this will be where I stay every time I go back to New Orleans.

I've stayed at the Marriott before but it doesn't have NOLA charm and it's on Canal so there's more walking, this time we wanted a hotel in the french quarter and we wanted something completely remodeled not some 200 year old hotel with thin walls and cockaroaches. This place was a beautiful boutique hotel that had great personality.

Clean freaks, my gay boys, city slickers and snobs would love this place!

PS Free Internet in the rooms is a definite plus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday & overall had a good experience. I've vacationed in NOLA a dozen & a half times in the past 10 years, so I know a lot about the various hotel properties. This is a 66-room hotel, centrally located French Quarter that has undergone a major re-do within the last year. (I remember it as the St. Anne that went belly-up after Katrina). The bedrooms are small & the baths are even tinnier, but both have stylish appointments, considering the limited space they had to work with. The hotel has only 6 rooms that sport balconies, so good luck at trying to get one of these. The complimentary breakfast offered was adequate with the basics, plus eggs, bacon & sausage. Nice enclosed courtyard with a small heated saltwater pool, although I thought the weather too cool to use it, & lush, tropical landscaping. The hotel is immaculately clean, however the maid skipped me one day & I had to complain. The front desk instantaneously had my room attended to & couldn't have been more accommodating when any request was made. Only had a few issues with the hotel, as I'm a meticulous guest & want the most out of my vacation. 1) There's only one slow moving elevator in a 5-story building that's used for everything. 2) Plastics disposable cups are in the bathroom -very Holiday Inn Express, in an otherwise elevated atmosphere. 3) Lack of balconies, as mentioned above. 4) Bar supports need to be installed for safety in the showers, as the black marble tiles get slippery. 5) Lastly, the hotel facade is too modest & needs some pizzazz -to emphasize the "wow" that's going on inside. Would consider being a repeat guest, if the price was right (rooms tend to be pricey).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hotel Le Marais exceeded our expectations. The staff, the breakfast, the pool, the bar, and the room were all fantastic. I would highly recommend giving it a try!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Warm Greetings Syonk,

Thank you for writting a review for our hotel. We really appreciate your comments on our staff, the pool, breakfast, the bar, and our rooms. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay.

Happy Holidays,

Daffne Ruglas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

A bright jewel small boutique hotel situated perfectly on a side street in the French Quarter. No street noise - just could hear a few doors closing inside. Good linens. Excellent breakfast served until 10:30, which suited us well as we are late risers. Room service is from a good restaurant next door. The patio is definitely New Orleans but with a bright, updated look - comfortable seats and small pool.. Newly renovated in 2010 for over $8 million, and it shows. Excellent, helpful staff. Small rooms; large TV's (42"). Would always stay there when in NO. We bought the POP package and it was absolutely a fantastic bargain.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Greetings Loucie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please comeback and see us again.

Happy Holidays,

Daffne Ruglas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have stayed in hotels all around the Quarter in the past 10 years or so. This was by far the best. Le Marais is a small hotel, beautifully restored, quiet and classy, with a modern lobby furnished in great colors. Leave the street and you are in another world. The rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is included. It took them a few days to get the wifi working on the fifth floor, and that bothered me. In spite of that, they deserve 4 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Happy Holidays CamilleNewYorkCity,

Thank you for writing a review to our hotel. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize for making you wait to use the wifi but I assure you that next time you come everything will be just great. We surely hope you comeback and see us again!

Merry Christmas and a Prosperous Year!

Daffne Ruglas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.