We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Marais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #3 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Wheeling WV
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel Le Marais is a splendid choice when visition New Orleans. Although quite small, the rooms are beautifully appointed. Staff is very friendly and helpful. 2 blocks from all the action, the hotel is quiet and secure. There is not much to see on the street side rooms so a courtyard view is beautiful and quiet. Nice continental breakfast in the morning until around 11 or so; bar opens at 3. You're in the middle of the action without the racket. Everything you could want to do in the French Quarter is a short walk.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    816
    318
    74
    11
    18
See reviews for
129
643
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
windsor ontario canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We selected this hotel based on it's excellent reviews and prime location. WOW. We had the best time walking around the French Quarter, sampling the excellent food and drink. The pool and courtyard provided a great respite from the hustle and bustle of wining and dining. I love New Orleans and I love this hotel. We can hardly wait to return. Great FREE breakfast and super bar for a nightcap.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our first time in NOLA.....My wife did extensive research on wher to stay and was excited about this Hotel...She was right....From meeting the person who she checked with on the stay several times to the other staff members...Everyone was very good....The court yard is paeceful and relaxing...The Hotel is well located in the middle of everything but is peacefull and quiet...We arrived on a early flight and where pleasently surprised that our rooms where ready....Our baggage was stored for several hours without problems due to our evening flight.....I hear the hotel was renoviated....They did a graet job except for one thing....There isn't a shower door .......That's it....
The balcony overlooking the courtyard was also a nice thing....

If you want to stay in a nice Hotel....
Don't miss this place...
We're going back when return to New Orleans...

Room Tip: Keep Calling the front desk!......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Eventually arrived in New Orleans at the end our three week trip and drove to the hotel. It wasn't a great start as we only had 20 minutes to get rid of our bags and drop our hire car off before being fined a day's extra hire, after checking-in asked the reception staff to store our bags and we'd be later to check-in to our room - but they insisted we had to put our bags in our room ourselves and wouldn't store them even for 20 minutes.

We loved the location of the hotel, couldn't believe how close it was to the busiest most exciting part of town but also felt incredible quiet and peaceful! The room was lovely, looking over the pool and courtyard and other than very noisy neighbours in the room next door you couldn't hear a thing from the surrounding area.

Breakfast was great and the courtyard was excellent for sitting out in either returning from our site-seeing or before going out at night. Although I didn't use the pool I was told the water was as warm as a bath.

After our first encounter with the staff they were always courteous but I couldn't help feeling a little stiff and too formal. Everything else though was brilliant, we loved New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

After reading all of the reviews of people saying their rooms had been given away we became very worried after making our reservation months in advance and knowing we were arriving very late in the day (arround 9). We called to confirm our reservation the day before and staff said everything was fine. After arriving we went to check-in. The guy at the front desk looked up our reservation and ask to wait a minute. He stayed gone for a few minutes that seemed like hours to us. He returned saying the room we had reserved was unavalible, but he could upgrade us to a balcony room for the same price that we were confirmed for! We had a great stay and felt comfortable and welcome the whole time we were there. The breakfast was great and the service was always friendly. Great hotel with good location, little or no noise (even though we had a street side room), great service, and great upkeep of the rooms and property!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for about two weeks. The Hotel and its rooms were recently renovated and in excellent order. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Below are some of my observations about the hotel:

- Just renovated.
- Comfortable beds.  
- Helpful and  friendly staff.  
- Nice continental breakfast.
- Free bottle of water each day.  
- Great location in the French Quarter
- Quiet rooms.  
- Good exercise room.
- Nice courtyard with small swimming pool.  
- Wifi is good in the lobby but spotty in the rooms.
- Two complimentary drinks.



Great hotel... highly
recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Super breakfast included in price.. Great convenient location.. Hotel was clean--service outstanding.. Maybe need a little help retreiving car

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.