We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool bar and a rockin' band” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Opera House

Old Opera House
601 Bourbon Street, (corner of Bourbon and Toulouse), New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
504-522-3265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 201 Nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Clubs
Attraction details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A cool bar and a rockin' band”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Bourbon Street can be a zoo but we hit on the Opera House one afternoon lured in by the sound of the band and ended up staying all afternoon. The staff were friendly (as were the other patrons) and the band were happy to play anything we shouted for. There were a couple of 2 for 1 drink offers on too so it was probably cheaper than some bars on Bourbon Street that day. If you're heading to NOLA then I'm sure Bourbon Street will be somewhere on your radar even if you're not into 24-7 partying. But I'd recommend a visit to the Opera House for the band's alone!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went there three nights in a row, at different times in the night, and every time we had a great time. Different people, each time, but we always felt comfortable and safe. The drinks are great, and the staff is very friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Live Music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the only place we found all weekend that had live music (other than karaoke). The band was great, covering various types of music. The drinks were overpriced, but I thought that about most of the places on Bourbon. It's worth it to stop in for a couple drinks, if you like live music.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Band was Awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location on Bourbon. Band plays lots of 80s music which is right up my alley!! People at the door don't mind if you bring in outside drinks. Shot girls can be a little annoying!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Band”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have frequented The Old Opera House during two different trips. It is a fun, happening place. The band (with various members coming and going) are very talented and play great 80`s rock. The staff are attentive and will even remember your order if you come back a couple of times during your stay. Great time! Can`t wait to go back on our next trip to New Orleans!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Old Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.