We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good show for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Insectarium

Audubon Insectarium
423 Canal Street, US Custom House, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
(504) 581-4629
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #26 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Specialty Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very good show for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

this is one of the attraction for the entire family. The kids will sure to enjoy insects exhibit in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    150
    49
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We've been talking about our visit here for years! It's that cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Like an aquarium but full of bugs from near and far- rare insects, creepy crawly things, as well as beautiful multi-colored butterflies. Great place for kids and adults, everyone will enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think this would be great for kids, only okay for adults. We went with the 4 day Audubon pass because we wanted to do all the experiences and this was probably my least favorite. All the exhibits are low so there is a lot of looking down but they had some cool bugs. They were all out so we could seem them. Lots of kids stuff, a VW bug, log area to walk through, tunnels, game section--I mean if I had kids this seems like it would be great. There are some gators too. One of the coolest room were dead butterflies arranged in beautiful ways. Their butterfly room was one of the best I have ever been too--it was large, had birds too and butterflies all over a large area. I would not go back...maybe if it was raining and I was in the area, or had my nephew and niece, or had done everything else I wanted to do. I like looking at bugs in cages but didn't find this place to have that many.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yuck this is fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think its a one of a kind. Butterfly house, works of art made from beautifully colored insects, giant beatles and spiders that tiu can hold and a disgusting display of cockroaches out of controll!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basile, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VERY EDUCATIONAL!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this was an interesting place! BUGS!!...everywhere! The 4D theatre inside was our favorite thing! It is definitely a must to experience! Also, the butterfly room is very cool

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Insectarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.