We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Fun for Kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Insectarium

Audubon Insectarium
423 Canal Street, US Custom House, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
(504) 581-4629
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Audubon Insectarium like an insider
Top Rated
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #33 of 458 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children
New Orleans
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small but Fun for Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Insectarium is a little facitily located on Canal Street in the US Customs Building. I think admission is now up to over $15 so I'd suggest the better value of $44 for the Aquarium, Insectarium, and Zoo combined, you at least save a couple dollars.

They have several stations set up with employees to tell you about specific bugs and allow you to touch them if you want, so that's informative - don't be afraid to ask questions! The butterfly exhibit is nice if you haven't been to the one in Key West (which is unbelievably amazing)...I also think it depends on how many butterflies they're able to keep at once. The lifespan of a butterfly is about two weeks so I imagine the population in there fluctuates a lot..there just weren't many when we went this weekend.

There's a fun little movie, too.

It's definitely worth it to go if you go ahead and get it with the zoo and aquarium package.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    163
    54
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gross fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My 6 year old and I loved this museum. Who knew insects were so interesting? The cockroach exhibit was a little disturbing, but the rest was great, particularly the room of pinned butterflies in every color of the rainbow. Absolutely beautiful!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a lot of fun here looking at all the cool inverts they had on display. The highlight was definitely the edible insect demo, we ate some of the bugs and they were pretty tasty! The butterfly section is also pretty cool, you can see butterflies coming out of their chrysalis' and the free flying butterfly room was pretty neat! If you're lucky a butterfly might perch on you if you stand in just the right place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although not all in our group were bug lovers, everyone found something they loved at the Insectarium. My 8 year old son was fascinated by the ant colony. He would have sat there all day if we had let him. My 8 year old daughter participated in the "bug" food sampling with a chocolate covered cricket. I loved the butterfly room. This place was fun because we had never experienced anything like it before. We only allowed about 2 hours for the Insectarium and it was not enough.

The movie experience was not very good. The "4D" seemed to be out of synch with the movie. Hours of operation are strictly adhered to. We were essentially "tossed" from the place the minute it closed. Even as we were directed to exit through the gift shop, we were informed that we could not make any purchases because the gift shop was closed as well. Be sure you budget your time so you can see/do everything.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We didn't have any children with us, and we all still had fun! I imagine children would find this just as fun as we did! The bug exhibits are fun, adult and child oriented, and very informative. There is an "underground" bug exhibit that makes you feel what its like to be a bug. Then you can try real bugs they've cooked, and even touch a few different ones from different volunteers there. At the end of the exhibits is the butterfly gardens: BEAUTIFULLY DONE! There is also a big koi pond, and you can stay in the butterfly gardens as long as you want. Its trully a wonderful experience for adults and children alike!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Insectarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.