We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small but great place to go in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Insectarium

Audubon Insectarium
423 Canal Street, US Custom House, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
(504) 581-4629
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #28 of 166 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A small but great place to go in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The cook show and the butterfly garden are amazing. Don't be fooled by its appearance. Give this place a visit, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    116
    42
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun and unqiue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had expected the insectarium to be a little large and house more bugs, frankly, but it was nonetheless a nice little visit. The exhibits were well-maintained and the supplemental info was well done. Interesting to learn a little more about the yellow fever epidemics and the termite troubles. Kids would likely enjoy this visit. The butterfly garden was jam-packed with butterflies and quite pretty, but again, rather small compared to what I've seen elsewhere. The cooking show was very very basic, but it was pretty fun to try some edible bugs (wax worms, crickets, meal worms). Worth it if you have the time and definitely kid-friendly, bu not as exceptional as some of the other reviews implied.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Beautifully done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Insectarium. The exhibits were very well done. It would be a fantastic place to take an interested child or group of children. Adults will also find things to interest them. The butterfly section was particularly good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabi, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Insectarium with New Orleans Flare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love the new orleans hall with the jazz music. We did not care for the cooking show and left before they served the bugs. We loved the butterfly exhibit. Since we are from New Orleans we found the info on our local bugs interesting. The bug movie was fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“creepy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

didnt think I would like this but it was brilliant. the butterflies were amazing.. do go.. its way better than i thought it would be!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audubon Insectarium also viewed

 

Been to Audubon Insectarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Insectarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.