We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
2440 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)
504-940-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Bywater
marietta ga.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you are in the area, you must go here! Friendly service, great atmosphere, plenty of locals. Where else can you get a meat omelet with at least 4 whole slices of thick perfectly cooked bacon, 4 slices of ham, and chunks of andouie sausage piled inside? Café au lait with an inch thick layer of foamy milk, house made berry jam, perfect biscuits as big as a man's fist. Cupcakes only $1 each with a meal. Don't pass up this opportunity! We ordered them to go, and they were the absolute BEST we ever had! No frills, no fancy decorations, just a perfect texture and flavor cake topped with just the right amount of creamy, not-too-sweet frosting. Go here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    68
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Cute neighborhood place with inventive menu - lots of art on the walls, and also outside tables. Well worth the drive over.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This turned out to be one of my favorite places on my visit to NO. The tart we had was amazing. It is off the beaten path, but still easy to find. We also ordered a crab omelet that was very tasty as well. This place is at the top of my list for places to return to when I visit NOLA again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Pastries and Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved our visit. Energetic and eclectic customers, great energy, coffee and pastry. A little off the beaten path...which is perfect

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Located in a neighborhood, there's not many other businesses near by. So, very quiet and peaceful and a great area to walk around. We got there with a group of 8 for brunch, and they sat us right outside. The food came out fast and it was delicious. Half of us were vegetarian, and there were many options for us!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.