We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
2440 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)
504-940-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,617 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Bywater
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ate here twice on my recent trip to NOLA. Had the raisin bread french toast the first visit and it was excellent as was the chicory coffee. Next visit just had the cinnamon roll with coffee. Excellent breakfast and lunch menu and its all made right there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    66
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast and baked goods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great last minute breakfast before heading off on a cruise. Super nice wait staff, delicious cupcakes and fun outside seating with great people watching.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfect brunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This little cafe was a wonderful find and the perfect place to have our last meal in NOLA - it was a short walk from the Frenchman's Inn where we were staying and definitely seems to be a local favorite. The food was wonderful - my partner is from Costa Rica and so we were super excited to find the special that day was a "gallo pinto" (rice and beans) breakfast. We also tried some of the sweet and savory pastry items - all in all everything was delicious. We were there sans kid but it looks like a very family friendly place - i wish there was a place like this down the street from our home because we would probably be there every weekend with our kiddo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiene
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Obviously, a labor of love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Beautiful desserts, a heaping of NO super-hospitality, a fine old building that has been left just derelict enough too feel "real". It's a tight list of musts in New Orleans with so many great choices, but this is a place I'll drop into anytime I am in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I absolutely loved the atmosphere of this little cafe, it's incredibly laid back and the food is delicious. Totally wonderful, non-pretentious and enjoyable to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.