We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This must be the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
2440 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)
504-940-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Bywater
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This must be the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We go to New Orleans frequently for concerts and to visit family. Cake Cafe has been consistently good each time we've visited. The atmosphere is very casual, and we always get a table outside for brunch. Service is good, food is delicious, and I like that they have so many types of coffee available.
Cake Cafe is good for a recovery breakfast after a long night of the French quarter. Their portions are huge and will not disappoint.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    81
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valla, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Crab, spinach and brie omelette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic food in the heart of the Marigny. This little cafe seems to do everything well, pancakes, sandwiches , eggs, coffee and cupcakes for an extra dollar after if you so desire. Very busy with locals coming and going from the minute they open the doors at 7AM. Get a side of their potatoes to go with your eggs- delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great eggs and grits and the french roast coffee was top notch. A perfect Big Beautiful Biscuit ( thats its real name and rightfully so) With homemade jelly...mmm mmm mmm

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great find in the heart of the Bywater, and not just the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The brunch, I will call it was superb and creative. The poached salmon was perfect, along side 2 poached eggs. We also had a fried to perfection a tilapia sandwich with some of the best french onion soup I have had in years. They have fresh juices, as in beet/orange, a combo not seen too often. The service was great as was the atmosphere. We also loaded up on pastries. I know why some complain of having to wait. There is a reason, especially given the number of choices in NOLA. The Cake Cafe is worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in NOLA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had breakfast with family on Wednesday. We had a large party to it was a little challenging with seating, etc. Food is very good. Don't miss the cup cakes. Everyone left satisfied and full.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.