We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service and Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cake Cafe

Cake Cafe
2440 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)
504-940-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Bywater
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The service is pretty good. All the sandwiches are big! I like the Club. Add any of the delicious cupcakes to your lunch. You won't leave hungry.

However, there are just a few tables and the place is usually jammed packed. I suggest eating there after 1 pm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    68
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Deep South
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery with Local Flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been here many times for breakfast and a few for lunch as well. This restaurant excels at baked goods: cakes, pastries, and cupcakes. During Mardi Gras, you can get beautiful homemade king cakes from Cake Cafe. I love the atmosphere and the location, but the breakfasts sometimes aren't as good as I hope they'll be. The portions are large, but sometimes the eggs are dry and quality is sacrificed for quantity. That said, the lunches don't disappoint, and I've had some crazy killer brie and pear pastries. Coffee is also good, and this is a classic New Orleans neighborhood eating spot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you have a chance to eat here, do it! Breakfast was amazing! My husband had the breakfast croissant, and I had the breakfast biscuit. The biscuit was so big, I had to use a fork and knife to eat it! And as an added bonus, for an extra dollar, you can get a cupcake with your breakfast!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

...at Cake was awesome! Everything is fresh and delicious. The pastries are a must. They're huge, fluffy, and perfect. Go hungry, because they definitely give you enough food to get you through the day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“amazing local breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

amazing, local corner breakfast and lunch place. a must if in new orleans. 1 mile from the french corner in marigny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cake Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.