We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it's a room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Well, it's a room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

One block off Canal this hotel is very close to the Quarter and all it has to offer which is a good thing as you probably wont be spending much time in your room! Average is a good description of the room, bed bathroom and TV, kind of what I would expect of Motel 6. Clean lobby but our room had an old toothbrush sticking behind the mirror so it made me wonder about the beds? Very nice front desk staff but the valet parking was lacking as there was very little space to pull off the street and the lot was blocks away so the wait for your car was very long and at $34.00 a day not cheap. There is a Starbucks in the lobby so don't expect any free coffee in the morning on your way out. Also a funny thing, our phones in the room had no info plate to let you know what button to push for Valet, front desk, service, etc. If you need a room and every other Marriott property is booked than this will do.

Room Tip: No suites of any kind and the rooms are all small and don't expect a view, we were on the 6th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We have noted your concerns and have address them accordingly. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    100
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
68
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel is 1 block down and 1 block over from bourbon street - good walking access. A self park option is also availble for about half the vallet cost. It is like two blocks over but they are small blocks.

The saint charles street car passes right in front of the hotel, which is convenient but a little noisey. Might want to try for an upper floor room or maybe one that is in the building core. Desk/door staff were helpful.


Room had most all common ammenities and was well maintained. Bedding was in good shape offered a comfortable sleep(including pillows that were of slightly different firmness). But dont expect much as far as options on tv. Mostly just sports channels. Arrived on the weekend prior to halloween. Got to see the crew of boo halloween parade on canal. Just walked out the door and the parade was 50' away. As far as food options, many choices are near, but try the acme or felix oyster house for the freshest oysters. Acme usually has a waiting line at least 15deep.

Room Tip: Upper floor or possibly one not with the window on to st charles ave - streetcar noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just off canal street and right on the St. Charles streetcar line. The property is very clean and I found the security to be more than adequate. The lobby is open and relaxing and the rooms are very clean. The bathrooms were also very clean and the shower has to be one of the nicest I have ever used! The once flaw for me was no breakfast. This is the first courtyard I have stayed at with no breakfast and the breakfat counter they do have is way overpriced. I would probably stay again, but I would bvring my own breakfast!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor. Never waited for an elevator and it was very quiet. The view, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

$350 plus taxes meant that room 606 topped out at $400 a night for a room finished Super 8 style with no outside window! No complaints about the shower or bed comfort but the toilet space was as cramped. When I arrived there was no one at the lobby desk. In fact, it was hard to discern the lobby desk. I had to track down staff. I like Marriott, and 4 times out of 5 trips I use them, but this ranks as the worst experience I've had. A lot of that had to do with the internal room and the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I didnt catch his name, black guy, glasses, didn't even look up at as as he frowned down at his desk. Didn't even get a hello until a young lady came over to check us in as the other guy seemed to busy to acknowledge our existence. Where was that famous southern hospitality? non existant here!

The rest of the stay was fine, bed was not greatly comfortable but the room was better than it looked in the photo's so i was surprised. I had no complaints about the room or the hotel it's self just some members of the staff. It's a great location too but for the price i expected more than just a place to flop your head.

Didn't try the breakfast which was a la carte as we headed onto Royal street just a few blocks away to Camailla Grill and had a hearty breakfast in a lively place!

All in all i would not stay here again as i'd like something with more character next time but we booked last minute and the hotel we wanted was fully booked. If you want to have something more from your hotel other than just a place to sleep between drinking then i'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We have noted your concerns and have addressed all training opportunities. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near the French Quarter. Because I was not too familiar with New Orleans, we decided to select a brand name hotel. Marriott never disappoints! The hotel provided valet parking, which was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us.
At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I always try to stay at a Courtyard property whenever I travel because I know I will be getting a clean, comfortable room at a good rate; in other word, I value the consistency. Unfortunately, this was not the case at this property. We stayed for three nights. When the room was made-up after the first night, I noticed that the carpet had not been vacuumed. Consequently, when I left the following morning (after the second night), I made a point of asking the person at the front desk to ask Housekeeping to vacuum the carpet when they made-up the room. However, not only was the carpeting not vacuumed, but I realized that the bathroom had not been cleaned either and one of the two garbage cans had not been emptied. If these short-cuts were taken by Housekeeping, it makes me wonder what I may have missed the first night by not scrutinizing the room as closely as I might otherwise have done at another hotel ... fresh sheets?

The only good thing about this hotel is its location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. As standards, every vacant ready and occupied rooms are walked to ensure rooms are completely cleaned and short cuts are not taken. We have noted your concerns and have them addressed accordingly. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards. Again, thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard
Address: 124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.