We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly pleasant, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #80 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Mostly pleasant, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel seemed to have a mixed bag of staff, some couldn't do enough to help and some made every request like you were putting them out of their way. I can't say I was hugely impressed with some attitudes and one of our party eventually would up complaining about one of the valets tone.

Over all the location was perfect, a few blocks walk from the casino if you like it, and to get into the French Quarter you literally turn right out of the hotel and cross Canal street which brings you into Royal and the French Quarter.If you don't mind a short ten min walk this is the place for you. Be wary however if you have a street level/ St Charles facing room as the tram (Street car ) runs all day and night, 15 mins in the day and 30 at night, it's kinda noisy but didn't bother me.

For what we needed which was a base camp and place to lay your head this was fine enough, be warned as well Valet/ car parking is expensive $36 a night and DO NOT self park we tried this once and your blood pressure is not worth it. Either pay the valet or leave the car at home.

I would consider this place again although not the cheapest and no complimentary breakfast did what I needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    107
    44
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
75
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This courtyard despite its reasonable location is a very poor choice. We had power failure from 3pm till late at night in the middle of Winter in January. It was raining profusely which added to the problem. The hotel manager was most unhelpful....unsympathetic and uncaring. Her customer skills really need improvement.
The rooms did not have a safe....all in all this is not a category 4 hotel. It really needs a makeover
Would never stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFQ_Marriott, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
This was a most unfortunate situation and I can't even begin to tell you how sorry I am that you experienced this. The fact that you chose to make this your review on Trip Advisor clearly shows us that we did not do nearly enough to address your concerns. I can tell you that we have addressed this with our leadership team. Our leadership team will continue to take measures to ensure that this does not happen again. This was a horrible set of circumstances, yet postings here and other evidence will show, we focus heavily on guest satisfaction as it is one of the core values of our company. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to change your mind about our hotel. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel lobby has been redone on the new courtyard style - it is nice and staff to register you is good. It was a little hard to find as the signs are not near the entrance. It did not really look like an entrance at all - but this is a city hotel.
Rooms are typical courtyard rooms - except they have upgraded the bath to a full shower which is wonderful. Room was quiet. Had to jiggle power cord to get the TV to work. Except for lobby, hotel seems a little tired- not bad - just on edge of needing a little help. All-in-all it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFQ_Marriott, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you very much for staying with us. I have shared your concerns with our leadership team concerning signage and TV equipment. We greatly appreciate your review and noticing our newly renovated bathroom designs. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The situation for my husband and I was the same mentioned in other reviews. The hotel is well located and nearby important areas. I would recommend this hotel only because the location but pay attention to the room the give you or call before to make sure the room has windows, this is my advice. The room they offered us in the hotel was very disappointing for the price we paid for, without windows giving to the street and very exposed to a common room. So to avoid curious customers we had to keep the curtains shot the whole time.
The breakfast service is not included and the parking fee is around $26 per day. The breakfast personnel customer service was poor too, so we went around the hotel for better breakfast and service. You may find a couple of places for breakfast very close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFQ_Marriott, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this valuable feedback. While we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our French Quarter location, but I am sorry that our facilities did not meet your expectations. I will personally share this feedback with our Operations and Bistro team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here for Memorial Day weekend, and chose the hotel because of the location and after reading some positive reviews. But I must say I was disappointed. Considering what we paid, I was quite angry when we got an "interior room". And by interior I mean that the "window" is to the hallway. I would have expected that for "Trash Inn" but not for a $200 room! I should not even be allowed to provide this type of room to the travelers.

The service was OK, the rooms size fairly good, and cleanliness and so was perfectly fine.

The location is great for visiting the city. Definitely a plus.

If you get a normal room, I'd say that the hotel is fine. But discard it if they don't assure you that the room is exterior upon reservation. We left the hotel and went to the Best Western St Christopher (see review) which ended up being a lot better.

Recommendation: for parking try to find alternative to the valet. There are nearby options that cost $16/night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends Memorial Day weekend. Most hotels were packed but got a satisfactory deal on a hotel with a balcony on St. Charles St. Not much to see, but it's nice to be able to step out of the room. The streetcars run up and down St. Charles all the time and can get very noisy. I could see how it could become annoying after a while. It's just a quick walk across Canal to the French Quarter, but far enough away that crazy groups of partiers aren't a problem. The staff was really friendly. The room was a good size and the bathroom seemed new. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Actually, I really good hotel. Perfect location to walk to everything, a very clean room and affordable. Only downside is these is not a pool. You can however use the hotel next door on the roof. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFQ_Marriott, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words!

We are pleased that we meet your expectations. We also appreciate your comments with regards to our location. We will also be expanding our gym and adding more amazing additional features. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.