We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small and dark room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #84 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Rosario
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good location, small and dark room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is quite good, being very close to Canal Street and Bourbon St. However, most of the rooms don't have outside windows. Instead, they have windows that overlook an inner corridor.....in my case I arrived there at 6 pm and left the following day at 7 am, so this didn't bother me much. However, if I would have stayed a couple of days, the absence of sunshine/light would have made me want to switch to another place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    116
    48
    12
    9
See reviews for
37
81
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The rooms are very nice. The beds are quite comfortable. They have a guest laundry which makes it very handy for travellers who have been on the road for a while. The staff are so polite and more than happy to help you. However we booked for three adults and included breakfast in our package, but when it came to ordering breakfast we were only allowed to order two adult meals and one for the childs menu. It was very close to Canal Street, and the street cars ran up the street just out side and for only a few $'s a day it was inexpensive. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Recently remodeled and nice but pretty pricey. I would have expected a much nicer view for what I paid for this place. As a matter of fact I had no view. The room was nice, clean, and well kept. The bed was hard. Nice lobby area and they serve a light breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ok, so I travel a ton and always at a Marriott. Pretty much every week for the last 9 years. 1,100+ nights with Marriott. Starting to do some of these reviews to help others out.

First things first, New Orleans is a great city and you wanna stay in the French Quarter. I stay here at this hotel at least once a year, and sometimes several times a year. You have other options - the full service Marriott and JW are on Canal St. and are nice, but more expensive. This hotel is cheaper and is right in the Quarter as well and a block off of Bourbon. You can stay here, have the valet park your car (not cheap - like $20-$28 per day or something) and never need your car again. Actually, I'd advise AGAINST you even getting a car and just take a cab from the airport and have them drop you off here.

The hotel is fine. Its a Courtyard. Its in a great location. Not as luxury as a Marriott, but not run down. Will get the job done. Its on the other side of Canal so you cross Canal, walk a block to your left, and boom - you have Bourbon St. Casino is 10-minute walk to your right once you hit Canal. Best bang for your buck as far as Marriotts go in the Quarter, and a great location. My 2nd choice in "bang for your buck" with a good location is actually the Holiday Inn Express right off of Canal. My 3rd choice is the full-service Marriott right on Canal - less than a block from Bourbon St.

Enjoy. Here's a few places to go if you like bars and restaurants: Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop (oldest free standing bar in New Orleans), Port of Call (a long walk but worth it. get there early for dinner), the "Peanut Butter Bacon Burger" at Yo Mama's is memorable - you love it or ya hate it. Old Absinthe House. French Market. Cafe Du Monde. New Orleans Cigar Factory on Decatur St. ( you see them rolling cigars in there... feels straight from Cuba). Jackson Square. Harrah's Casino. Brunch at Antoine's. lots of other spots... all walking distance... too many to name here. just go. you'll love New Orleans. you'll like the Courtyard. Nothing flashy, but it gets the job done. Consistent. Get a hand grenade drink while you're there too. Maybe a gin fizz. Definitely get some blackened redfish, jambalaya, crawfish boil if in season, gumbo, etc... as your food options. The bloody mary at the open air restaurant at the French Market is splendid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a family vacation to New Orleans. The hotel is near the French quarter, bourbon st, harrahs and the streetcars. The valet parking was expensive, but worth the convenience. The staff was very helpful out whole stay and even held our bags for us on the day of our departure so we wouldn't have to carry them around. There is a little bar for breakfast and late snacks. My only complaint our whole trip was that the beds were pretty uncomfortable. However, even with that, I think we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stay at a lot of Marriotts, and this one is typical of the standards set by Marriott. Clean, updated, friendly, efficient staff - a pleasant stay all around. The room was a king, and was spacious although the door into the bathroom was a bit awkward. The shower was nicely set up with a long shelf to hold bottles and soap - not the usual balancing trick to get everything fit onto a little corner shelf. The large shower had an easy low step into it, but that means no tub for those of you who like a soak. The hot tub was closed and empty.

At half a block to Canal Street and with one trolly stop across the street, and another at the end of the block, the location doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYFQ_Marriott, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
It was a pleasure that we could help you throughout your stay with us. Our leadership team is continuously finding better ways to make our guests stay more pleasant. We also have recently renovated our new guest rooms as well as a fitness center redo is coming very soon. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is well run. The front desk staff are very personable and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. I found it to be quiet. To minor things...there is no card listing the TV channels and their room borchure says that there is complimentory coffee from 5am to 10 am. But the only have Starbucks ($$) when the open for breakfast at 6:30am. Even the Ritz has free coffee....
The location is good to walk a few block to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Downtown New... F, General Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
On behalf of my team of associates, I would like to thank you for staying with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in New Orleans, and appreciate that you selected to stay with us. At the Courtyard Downtown, guest satisfaction is our primary goal. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to ensure we provide top notch service and maintain Marriott high quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.